Inspiration

iceheart

Click the pic for the original challenge. Written for Pirate’s Līgo Haībun Challenge
~ Prompt “Melt”.

Ravenous, inspiration finds me. Hidden deep beneath the ice of yesterday’s tears, Bête Noire skillfully hunts its prey. I huddle still, frozen by my terror of the words themselves, and it smells my fear. Teeth of raw emotion tear at my heart. Jaws of painful memory grind the bits of rended flesh. I cry out in anguish, and my tears flow from my fingertips.

Sated, inspiration abandons me. My trembling husk is consumed from within. Numb consolation stares back at me from the page, the words spilled upon it beating with the essence of my ravaged heart. Grim satisfaction offers me peace, but I no longer have a place to put it. So I sit shivering in the liquid passion that frozen could not save me.

passion finds my heart
the wall of ice drips away
leaves a pool of tears

© 2013 Anne Schilde

About Anne Schilde

Image "Webster's Kiss" © 2011 Anne Schilde Thanks always for reading! ♥
This entry was posted in Stuff... cuz I like to write stuff! and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Inspiration

  1. joetwo says:

    Nicely done! Love the Haiku

  2. yerpirate says:

    Oh this is made for you! I’m truly stunned. When word are written so luxuriously but with such raw emotion and suffering it is truly gorgeous. I am quickly staring to see haibun is truly an art form. The ensemble of passage with the haiku really works.

  3. deanabo says:

    Beautiful talent.

  4. JazzBumpa says:

    Surreal
    Powerful
    Masterful
    I am in awe
    JzB

  5. II says:

    love the polar elements.

  6. This is really exceptional! Raw, beautiful…almost like a tear forming…filled with so many other layers of emotions…and then I can see it running dawn a cheek…and disappearing when the haiku ends…

    • Anne Schilde says:

      I was just commenting on the Joyful haiku on your blog when I saw this. Are you going to do “Melt?” My deeper inspiration was actually a conversation with Joe (above) but because of my fascination with William T. Cox’ Squonk creature. I’m sure I was one in a former life.

  7. muZer says:

    Ah! Anne. Such an amazing post. Loved these lines so much.. You are a magician and have a way with words..:-) “Teeth of raw emotion tear at my heart. Jaws of painful memory grind the bits of rendered flesh. I cry out in anguish, and my tears flow from my fingertips.” Such perfection.. And the haiku in the end completes it. Very well written, as always..:-)

  8. I’m impressed how you can show your feelings so I really feel with you. Very good.

  9. nightlake says:

    very well done, Anne

  10. Sunshine says:

    wow. i’m momentarily at lost for words…your haibun entry deeply moved me. i agree with nightlake…very well done. ❤

  11. kz says:

    So I sit shivering in the liquid passion that frozen could not save me. – it’s a fantastic closing line. there were so many other great lines i won’t anymore mention… i really enjoyed your choice or words — very rich.

  12. kingsleycw13 says:

    Love the way you sustained the imagery in your personification here!

Stuff You Get to Write

