Flash Fiction

Flash Fiction?

A flash of brilliance, burning in my mind… Furiously, my fingers raced to capture them. The fire! The passion! This story was hot, scorching my keyboard. My heart raced with my fingers as the inferno of imagination blazed forth… for about a paragraph.

The flame flickered before fizzling out, snuffed by the cold-hearted eyes that read along. Critical eyes! My eyes! The wisps of smoke traipsing up from the smoldering wick of creativity bore no evidence of my once brilliant flare. A crumpled idea, in the frigid Limbo of the Recycle Bin with all the others…

© 2012 Anne Schilde

I’ve never done a 100 word challenge before so I thought I’d do one for this challenge at Julia’s Place, so I could say I did one. Click the pic (haha, I was actually looking for Bart Simpson) to see the original challenge. I think I had 4 words to spare!

About Anne Schilde

Image "Webster's Kiss" © 2011 Anne Schilde Thanks always for reading! ♥
This entry was posted in Stuff... cuz I like to write stuff! and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Flash Fiction

  1. I’m not sure if I loved this because it’s brilliant, because I can relate to it, or because it was just so well written. You pick, but either way I loved it!

  2. Nanda says:

    Oh, Annie..
    I love how you translated brilliantly a feeling we have almost all the time, haha.

  3. Oh, that worked so well for me. I’d recognize that feeling with little suggestion, but you also wrote it so well that it sang. If you really had four words to spare (according to your wordprocessing program, because I’ve found that WordPress has trouble counting 🙂 ) then you had eight more to go according to Julia’s rules. But there isn’t a penalty, and it was your first. Do you think you’ll try another?

  4. KP says:

    Love the alliteration – and the situation … too close to home for us writers! Well captured. Play again this week?

  5. Delft says:

    Nice one we can all relate to, I think. And I absolutely love the “crumpled idea”.

    • Anne Schilde says:

      Aw thanks! That was my favorite part! Like those scenes where you see the frustrated writer crumpling up paper and tossing it in the trash. Thanks for the comment!

  6. Ermilia says:

    What a great idea, 100 words! Bahaha that picture made me laugh. I really like your little story. This was my favourite sentence: ‘The wisps of smoke traipsing up from the smoldering wick of creativity bore no evidence of my once brilliant flare.’ Brilliance! Pure brilliance! It’s so true though… sometimes you do suddenly get hit by the greatest idea only to have your own critical eyes snuff it out. 😦

    – Ermisenda

    • Anne Schilde says:

      OMG! x3! Someone laughed at my picture! Thank you! I thought it was just the funniest thing that this wasn’t really fiction at all, so to give it a picture with a “flash” that wasn’t really fiction… just YAY! Thanks for that laugh!

Stuff You Get to Write

