One Lovely Blog Award

Yay! An excuse to use strike-throughs!

On November 13th (14th if you’re in Australia) I had three simultaneous experiences, all of which were completely new to me. The most amazing of those was that I got to hear for the first time ever, someone else reading one of my stories aloud. Not just someone, a very talented reader with a beautiful voice, wonderful theatrics, and an awesome Aussie accent! That someone is one lovely blogger, Noeleen Ginnane, author of wordsfallfrommyeyes.

For those of you who aren’t familiar with Noeleen, she has been blogging, chapter by chapter, the unique and incredible journey of a single mother and her struggle to give a loving home to her beautiful baby boy while struggling with the ghosts of her past. The story is, of course, her own personal experience. It has been nothing short of life-enriching to follow her in her journey and I’m proud to share it with you today.

My second experience was completely unexpected. The piece Noeleen selected was an excerpt from Fish & Chips, a little flash fiction adventure I wrote for Ermilia’s Picture It and Write challenge. Noeleen didn’t just give me a sneak preview of what it might sound like as a Book on Tape. She gave me my first glimpse of a theatrical production and I’ll let her video describe what I mean. Here you can watch the incredible honor she paid to me and 13 other bloggers…

Thank you so much, Noeleen! ♥

Obviously, the third incredible thing that happened is that someone other than my friend dr.sab told me I deserved an award two awards more awards than I know what to do with! Seriously. I don’t know what to do with them. So I’m going to sit on decline accept them… sort of… BUT…

First, I can’t spam 45 30 15 people asking them to spam 15 other people. I can’t. Second, I love every one of the blogs I read and I hate the thought of one of you feeling like I don’t love yours. Third, I haven’t been here long. I only have 8 follows so far, and I can’t keep up with those.

It feels wrong to me to accept something I can’t properly pass on. But the love feels awesome, and I want to share it. So I am going to conditionally accept the One Lovely Blog award (because the picture is prettier and there is only one of them) as follows:

I will pass the award on to three other bloggers. Yep, you read me. Three. I’m choosing them because each of them, through their blog, fills a very special void in my heart. I’m choosing them because when their posts show up in my In Box, I honestly get giddy, goose-pimply excited about it. I reserve the right at any time to spam add others up to the originally suggested fifteen. I will anchor this post to the top of my page for a day whenever I add someone new. Okay? That’s the best I can do.

After the amazing way Noeleen did this, I feel totally small just adding a few vanilla links, but here are my nominees:

Added December 22nd, 2011:

The Insanity Aquarium – I. Love. This. Girl! ♥ A couple of weeks ago I made a horrible mistake. When I clicked on her profile from a Freshly Pressed comment, I knew I loved her. And then I let something distract me before I read her page. DO NOT make my mistake. 🙂

Added December 17th, 2011:

1 Story a Week – Exactly that. Adam writes fiction like I do and he has committed to posting one new original story each week.
Ribbons Undone – Ribbons chronicles life with Miss S. her precious new daughter. She also shares poetry, stories about life that are sometimes funny and sometimes emotional, and she recently just wrote her first short story!

Added November 27th, 2011:

Miss Demure Restraint – Really? Someone I think truly deserves the Versatile Blogger award, but dang it! She already has it! She is very funny, BUT she can write everything! Humor, satire, commentary. Look around!

And my original three:

PCC Advantage – The lighter side of higher education. Everything from great advice to smartly funny looks at times we don’t follow it. Lists!
The Ruminations of Jess – Humor. No, she’s not THE Jess, but I might love her that much. A seriously hilarious and heart-warming look at life!
Under the Fallen Leaves – Mostly poetry. Mostly romantic. Totally beautiful! Somehow magically connected to me through a butterfly.

And just because:

My Drunk Kitchen – I know it’s not really a blog. Everything you ever needed to know about cooking, except how to cook.

Which brings me now to the realization that I don’t actually know 7 things about myself of interest that people wouldn’t normally know about me. Hey, cool! That’s #1!

2. I know more about grammar rules than any sane person should. I ignore them just like I ignore that little voice in my head that’s always telling me to do bad stuff like ignore grammar rules. Wait, no. Hmm.
3. I have acrophobia. Palms sweating, nausea, hyperventilating acrophobia. I like to jump from high places anyway. If I ever get to Heaven, there better be a Bungee jump. Adrenaline. Junkie.
4. I love strike-throughs. Grr! You SO would not normally know that!
5. My name is not really Flower. Stop. Think about it. 🙂
6. I have had trouble convincing people of #5 before. No, seriously! More than once!
7. I French-kissed a rat when I was 5 yrs old. Okay, he licked my tongue but it was really frikkin romantic!

Finally, here are the rules that slightly resemble those that were passed on to me:

1. Thank the person who gave them it to you in a blog, providing their link.
2. Name 7 things of interest people wouldn’t normally know about you.
3. Name 3 is the new 15 bloggers you’d like to give the award to.
4. Pass the award to them!

✔ ✔ ✔ and ✔ Yay!

Thanks again, Noeleen! ♥

About Anne Schilde

Image "Webster's Kiss" © 2011 Anne Schilde Thanks always for reading! ♥
This entry was posted in Yay! and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to One Lovely Blog Award

  1. elaviel413 says:

    Oh my goodness, you humble me yet again with your wonderful words! I appreciate your kindness and support so much! I can honestly say I’m glad to have discovered you in this online world of the written word! You are a wonderful person that I’m blessed to call a friend.
    I’m so honoured to be one of the lovely blog award recipients! 🙂
    ♥ Me

  2. Ermilia says:

    Congratulations! Noeleen did a great job. That was a very romantic experience you shared with the rat. Did the romance survive or wither? I think Noeleen chose a great excerpt of your work to read. 😉

    – Ermisenda

    • Anne Schilde says:

      OMG! You asked the million dollar question! The rat’s name is Webster. My profile picture is a sketch I did of my memory. Did it survive?

      • Ermilia says:

        Ah! How awesome! Haha, you have a great sense of humor. I guess Webster has a special part in your heart, even now. ♥ True love. 🙂

      • Anne Schilde says:

        It took me 3 1/2 hours to do that simple graphite composite from a couple of photos. You can see why I passed on Odette, who needs a medium with color. I’m kind of burning to draw her though, so maybe someday…

  3. Ermilia says:

    Great work, that’s awesome. I’m not a very good drawer sadly, I wished I was. I hope to see you attempt Odette one day. 😀 The gallery is forever open (I’ll arrange someone to keep it open after death).

  4. Nanda says:

    OMG, Anne!
    I can’t imagine how you felt when Noeleen read your text! So exciting, right?
    Also, you’ve got email m’am! 😉
    X

    • Anne Schilde says:

      She asked my permission first so I was really excited about it already, but I was completely floored when I heard it. I had no idea what she was planning to read or about the award. It was the most awesome surprise ever!

  5. wordsfallfrommyeyes says:

    Perfectly done, Anne. This is the way I reckon it SHOULD be. I agree, it’s spamming 15 others to spam 15 others. When I first got the award I did it all quite dedicatedly and found out it was just asking too much, and as I say when I got the second (from Katerina) I decided to ignore it but a third (from Phil) and then one from theballadofjoeyflowers – SO check him out! I just thought “I’ll do it my way. Who’s here to say ‘You broke the rules, we take back the imaginary reward’!!!

    I think you did it perfectly well. And right NOW because I have the time, and because I appreciate YOUR opinion, I’m going to check out your other three.

    Thanks for the throw back. You really were very generous to me! 🙂

    Your stories are FANTASTIC 🙂

    • Anne Schilde says:

      LOL… and who are we if we don’t define the rules for ourselves anyway? Grr! Thanking you properly was as much a reason for this post as any, Noeleen. I’m still glowing. 🙂

  6. Jezzmindah says:

    “Which brings me now to the realization that I don’t actually know 7 things about myself of interest that people wouldn’t normally know about me. Hey, cool! That’s #1!”

    haha you’re too hilarious Miss Anne. Thanks again for the lovely encouragement you give, it’s been really important to me in my fledgling blogosphere adventures. When my butt is in gear I will honor/repost the award, definitly think 15 is too many. You’re so wise that you’re practically Mr Miagi there with you’re rule breaking culling to three.

    Much love!
    Jxxxo

  7. LOL!! I love that you admitted your love of strike-throughs!! Pure awesomeness.

    Thanks so much for your lovely and kind words, Anne…I’m so lucky to have found you on the blogosphere! You are just brilliant and wonderful! 🙂

  8. You are terribly sweet. Thank you. Yours is one of the blogs I try very hard to read all the posts. There are times life gets in the way, but I usually get the opportunity to catch up sooner or later. You are one of the most gifted writers on WordPress and I have read a lot of blogs, so that is saying something.

    I’m proud to be part of the Write Wednesdays dymanic duo with you!

    • Anne Schilde says:

      [dons cape, cocks head to listen to swelling theme music]
      I find lots of blogs that excel in different ways. We’re all unique. Yours is a non-stop reminder that some people are just truly witty. I really appreciate the time you spend with me, especially now, when I know life has been in the way!! ♥

  9. Anna says:

    Squuueeeee! Oh, Annie, thank you so much! I’ve recieved a few awards, but I never do one of these pages because I like to save my blog exclusively for my stories… but I would still very much like to accept if you don’t mind! Thank you so much for your kind words. Your lovely comments over the past few days have quite literally had me walking round with a permanent smile. Especially coming from such a fabulous writer as yourself, it means a great deal!

    I haven’t had much time to read a lot of your posts yet as I just started a new job this week and I’m still trying to get used to my new routine (yay lists!), but now I have four days off. FOUR DAYS OFF! This is now officially designated as Annie-post-reading time. Well, that and Christmas. 😀

    • Anne Schilde says:

      Thank you for your amazing stories! Hey, it’s just an excuse to link my page to yours, right? I’m glad you’re enjoying the comments. I was just leaving another as you sent this. I’m going to run out of stories soon though. 😥 Congratulations on your new job!

  10. #7 EWWWW!!!!! That’s my little girl screwed-up-icky-face-and-pointing-finger reaction. How did you come across a rat? And one that would lick you?

  11. dinkerson says:

    Oh wow! This is just too cool. I can’t even imagine how honored you must’ve felt.

    • Anne Schilde says:

      Noeleen is too cool! Her story’s gotten really long now since she’s basically blogging a book, but if you have time to go back to the beginning… well, she writes the way she reads!

Stuff You Get to Write

