Five Good Reasons

Click the pic for the original challenge. Written for Ermilia's Picture It and Write.

“Talk to the hand, Pockets,” Jeff reached down and stuck his hand in my face so I could get a good look at it. “Talk to the hand.”

Jeff started calling me Pockets for my habit of wearing cargo pants all the time so I won’t have to carry a purse in school. It’s kind of catching on a little and now Billy and Tyler call me that sometimes too. I don’t really mind. It’s better than Flower, and it’s a sure sight better than Sir.

I grabbed his wrist and spoke into his hand like a microphone. “Tell the doorknob at the other end of your arm what a dweeb he is!” His hand twisted left and right as if deflecting the words as they came from my mouth.

Jeff’s been on all semester about how he wants us all to ditch when he gets his license and take the truck out to the Z. The cliff at the top side of the lake has always been a popular spot for kids to sneak out drinking. Jeff seems to think it’s some sort of requirement, a mandatory part of life, like puberty.

There’s no way I’m going. The park rangers are catching kids up there all the time. Daddy would be ready to kill me when the Attendance Office called. If I got caught out at the Z, drinking or not, I might as well start work on my eulogy now. It was this argument that met Jeff’s open-palmed rebuff. He cupped his hand now into a puppet and made it flap its mouth at me. I swatted it out of my face.

“You’re coming,” he said.

Whatever. There was no sense in arguing with him. I just wouldn’t go when the time came. You can never argue with Jeff anyway. He’s one of those guys who’s convinced the universe was built so he could be at the center of it. The rest of us are mere decorations in his illustrious affair with life, like furniture to be rearranged at a whim. The problem is he’s smart, and funny, and good-looking, so everyone just goes along for the ride.

“You’re gonna get in trouble for the beer,” I said.

“We’re gonna get in trouble,” he corrected me.

“You know I don’t drink,” I said. “Anyway, beer tastes like crap.”

“Pull your head out,” Jeff laughed. “Jessi tell you that? You never sucked a brew in your life. Did she also happen to mention she’s a fucking fish? You know you’re drinking with the rest of us; it’ll be fun! Gimme one good reason why I should let you skate.”

A moment’s reflection reminded me what a waste of time that would be.

“I’ll give you five good reasons,” I said. I held my up my hand in a fist facing him and opened my fingers one at a time. “Talk to the hand, Jeff!”

© 2011 Anne Schilde

About Anne Schilde

Image "Webster's Kiss" © 2011 Anne Schilde Thanks always for reading! ♥
This entry was posted in Annie's World, Stuff... cuz I like to write stuff! and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Five Good Reasons

  1. terri0729 says:

    I like “talk to the hand”, Anne! It was my first thought when I saw the picture before I read the paragraph, lol. Good job! Blessings, Terri

  2. jules says:

    I always used to say that phrase all the time when I was growing up.
    Great post!

    Jues
    http://andsuddenlyisee.wordpress.com / http://wordshakermag.wordpress.com

  3. Nanda says:

    That’s so cool, Anne! I really enjoyed it!
    And I love this challenge at the girls blog… i always go some sort of poetry… 😉
    cheers!

  4. Eliza says:

    That was a good one; the part where she’s saying how she doesn’t drink and “anyway, it tastes like crap” totally reminds me of what I say when my guy friend tells me about drinking … Hahaha. Next time I’ll ask him five good reasons to why I should drink.

  5. There was a place like that in the town where I went to high school. It was called Tri-County Lake. Well there was another place, but it was out in the boonies and part of a military no-fly zone so when we went out there, we had to be very careful. We called it Sun Castles. It was an abandoned missle silo. There were all kinds of curious things out there. Anyway, teens being teens, we used to go out there and drink ourselves silly and get into all kinds of shennanigans. I guess every town in middle America has few spots like that.

    • Anne Schilde says:

      Hehe, maybe not with cool stuff like missile silos! Every town has teens being teens too. 🙂 I made this place up based on a really cool lake I found on Google Earth that was shaped like a big Z. I bet the kids that live there really go hang there for real. I would.

  6. Phil's Lounge says:

    Friendship, authority, leadership, influence, peer pressure, choices and decision making…all the things youngsters have to deal with on a regular basis.
    Will Jessi be strong and exercise the right choices or will Jeff’s influence be to overpowering?
    We shall see… 😉

  7. Jezzmindah says:

    So Miss Anne, explain these posts to me pretty please. I’m not clever enough to figure it out on my lonesome. The same characters all appear but the time lines are disjointed…is this pieces of the novel you’re writing or do you just use your charachters to place them in the story of which ever pic is posted on Picture It?

    • Anne Schilde says:

      It’s the latter… sort of. Webster’s Kiss was mostly finished some time ago. It is written autobiographically like a lot of these posts. Jessi is the other principle character. I love writing us, so I do it here. These stories are random shorts that were mostly based on my dreams until I discovered these awesome flash fiction challenges. They seldom have much to do with the story line in my novel.

Stuff You Get to Write

