Frightful Happenings

Click the pic for the Original Challenge. Written for Ermilia’s Picture It & Write.

Annie sat perfectly still, legs poking out from under the curtain in deliberately twisted fashion. Sooner or later they will come and find me. They will come, and they will think I’m dead, and then they will be sorry.

Only the silence came, followed by more silence. The sounds her mother made in the kitchen trickled away into the distance. Her hushed breathing became nothing more than the beating of her heart, and finally there were only her thoughts to accompany her.

You’re not my real parents. Stupid meanies. Her imagination spun to life like a tornado in her head, the same imagination that got her in trouble in the first place…

“Let me go!” she screamed. “Help! Some…”

August clamped his hand down over her mouth. “Quiet Princess,” he growled. “Ow!”

Annie bit his hand. She kicked him in his shin, but it did no good. She was just too small and she couldn’t get away. “You’re making a big mistake,” she warned. “You’ll be sorry. My Daddy’s the King of Everything and he’s gonna come after you.”

August laughed an evil laugh. “Your Daddy is powerless against me. I’ve sent the Frightful Happenings to deal with him. You’re my daughter now!”

Annie gasped. She knew all too well the dangerous Happenings in whose hands her father’s fate now lay. Furry little trolls with sharp fangs that ran in packs of three. Bad things always come in threes.

“You better not hurt my Daddy,” she said, imagining the peril he must already be in, surrounded by the hairy imps, gnashing their impish teeth.

Suddenly the Happenings were after her. She was surrounded by them. She shrieked and ran and they gave furry chase, voicing funny noises while they ran. “Gubblubble, gubblubble, gubblubble…” the sound Gubblins always make.

Then August’s strong hand grabbed her off her feet and threw her into the back of a van, slamming the door shut. The engine roared to life. This was no time to think of escape. Her father was in danger. She had to save him. August was stupid. He would lead her right to him, she was sure of it. But how to defeat the Happenings?

Annie knew there was only one way to defeat Happenings. Their only weakness was time. Time is the Master of…

“What on Earth are you doing now?” her mother’s voice interrupted her daydream. “August, supper’s ready,” she called into the other room.

Annie jumped. She’d been sitting so long, an army of pushpins that had amassed in her hip deployed and marched down her leg to lay siege to her already lifeless toes. It felt like her foot was on fire. She wondered if she could even move it if she tried, but she had to stay still. Perfectly still.

“You can’t talk to me, I’m dead,” Annie pouted in a whisper from behind the curtain. “Go away, you’re going to make Daddy know.”

“You need to finish being dead and wash your hands for supper,” her mother said. She disappeared back toward the kitchen.

Her father’s footsteps approached from the study. His fear when he saw her that way, the guilt would be too much, he would be sorry he had yelled at her about the Happenings.

The footsteps passed by. They didn’t even slow down.

“Tie your shoes, Flower Anne,” he said before he was out of earshot. “You don’t want something frightful happening.”

© 2012 Anne Schilde

About Anne Schilde

Image "Webster's Kiss" © 2011 Anne Schilde Thanks always for reading! ♥
This entry was posted in Annie's World and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Frightful Happenings

  1. Ermilia says:

    Lovely! A great story. I loved this description so much: ‘She’d been sitting so long, an army of pushpins that had amassed in her hip deployed and marched down her leg to lay siege to her already lifeless toes. It felt like her foot was on fire.’ It’s simply delightful. I wish I had come up with such creative writing genius. I also really like the interaction between Annie and her mother – “You need to finish being dead and wash your hands for supper.” It made me smile. Thanks for contributing to Picture it & write!

    It was good to read a change from Kate. I could feel the bubbly energy of little Annie as she played hide and seek. I want to learn more about the family dynamic in the chapter but I really liked the overall tone, the ending was cute.

    – Ermisenda

    • Anne Schilde says:

      Her family dynamic is kind of dysfunctional… I know I’ve only hinted at it here, but it’s because she’s the protagonist in Webster’s Kiss and I’ve written a lot about it there. A lot of Annie’s problem is in her imagination. 😉 <– capitalize that wink
      I'm really glad you liked this. I've read it through a few times now and decided to add it to my favorites.

  2. terri0729 says:

    LOL! That was great Anne!!!!! I loved it. It kind of reminded me of the Langoliers by Stephen King, do you know it? Fabulous job 🙂 hugs, Terri

  3. nelle says:

    The workings of a child’s mind, so fun to explore!

    • Anne Schilde says:

      🙂 I love imagining I’m little again. You hear a phrase like “frightful happening” and… well, if they’re frightful, they must be monsters, right? In Dear Sarah, 13-yr-old Flower Anne writes a story about being a princess who was abducted by her parents. It just made sense that she would have imagined it at a much earlier age.

  4. That’s an awesome story Anne! This is why I try to keep my childish imaginative mind – life is much more interesting that way 😉

  5. That last line is so lovely – it just ties the whole story together so perfectly. Anne Shilde, master story writer, strikes again!

    • Anne Schilde says:

      Hush now. Last thing I need’s a swell head. 🙂 It usually takes me a while to like my own stories, but this one got a quick ♥ Favs tag. I’m really glad you like it!

  6. Hahaha! Oh, the imagination of a child. Once again, BRILLIANT story, Annie!

Stuff You Get to Write

