Blind Date

laptop

Click the pic for the original challenge. Written for Ermilia’s Picture It & Write.

Author’s note: This won’t really make sense unless you read the prompt first. Click the pic…

“When are we going to get to meet her, Mark?” Denise asked.

“Did you do it all night long?” Ty joked.

“Shut up,” Mark snapped, defensively.

Ty’s question parroted one of the group’s favorite movie quotes. There were laughs around, but Denise wasn’t amused. She studied Mark’s annoyed and troubled face with deep concern. His infatuation with “Annie” was unhealthy. Sure, she was pretty, but it probably wasn’t even her real picture, let alone her real name. They all knew he’d never met her, yet he insisted on keeping up the pretense.

It crushed Denise to watch Mark wasting hours of his life with what amounted to a pixel pin-up girl. Yes Denise stalked her. So what? Her Facebook profile was the most contrived thing she could ever imagine… Interested in: Guys, Partying, Guys… come on. What Mark really needed was a real date, someone with breaths and a pulse.

“You should forget Annie,” Denise said. “I met this girl at the gym who’s single. Her name’s Katherine. You should let me introduce you.”

Mark narrowed his eyes at her. “I’m sure your friend is nice,” he said.

“…and rich,” Denise added. “She runs some internet dating company or something.”

Mark shook his head. “You don’t understand. Annie’s special.”

© 2013 Anne Schilde

About Anne Schilde

Image "Webster's Kiss" © 2011 Anne Schilde Thanks always for reading! ♥
This entry was posted in Stuff... cuz I like to write stuff! and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Blind Date

  1. Nanda says:

    I find this incredibly sad. And real. And contemporaneous.

  2. WordsFallFromMyEyes says:

    Love the last line. It’s true.

  3. joetwo says:

    I think you can hire a service like this already. It’s supposedly good for getting rid of unwanted stalkers. Nice write though. Who is to say that “Katherine” would have time for her clients.

    • Anne Schilde says:

      The new viral craze for ridding yourself of unwanted stalkers is some advice column called Agony Uncle or something like that. You have to be careful though. You don’t want to lose your wanted stalkers… baby with the bathwater, you know.

  4. II says:

    Story of…[insert multiple people I know]’s life.

  5. Green Speck says:

    This is so true … happens all around us !!!

  6. Ermilia says:

    This story definitely ends on a sad note. 😦 Even while writing my prompt, I knew that it was most likely the life of quite a few people out there. I think it’s great to find solace with others on the internet but one has to be careful…not to lose their sense of reality. Great follow-up, Annie! Thanks for contributing this week!

    – Ermisenda

  7. Adam Drake says:

    Holy crap! Is that really a thing? Do people really care so much about what other people think that they would rather live a lie and fake happiness than actually BE happy? Sorry… Great story! That just threw me for a loop.

    • Anne Schilde says:

      I guess I was sort of surprised by a couple of the comments, but I know people who’ve faked having a guy call them, or had flowers delivered to themselves on VD… stuff like that, so that isn’t really so different.

  8. nightlake says:

    really very sad for Mark..an amazing write-up

  9. It’s so sad that in many cases in real life this happens: people think they can find true love through the internet… although I won’t say that it’s not impossible, but for me a relationship holds more value when it happens by chance, face to face.
    Great contribution for the picture!

    • Anne Schilde says:

      Jessi: You know how to tell if an elephant is in love with you?
      Annie: How?
      Jessi: The peanut is still in the card.

      I think love is a confusing thing no matter where it happens, but the Internet is a crazy place for sure. People change when they get behind their Oz curtains. Even if the feelings turn out to be real, what happens when Mark peels back the curtain and finds the e-whore pulling strings? Priscilla’s post talked about the girl knowing everything about James Bond, and I laughed out loud because when I’m online, I know everything about James Bond too. In RL, I can’t even remember the names of the three movies I watched or who played Bond before Daniel Craig. I can carry on a chat the same way I write my stories. I have a dictionary, a thesaurus, a language translator, and an insanely powerful encyclopedia at my fingertips and that’s all before I pull up Google. But I wouldn’t be like that if you met me. Anyway, I’m ranting again. Thanks for the comment, MD!

Stuff You Get to Write

