Book Cover Design

poaf

Cover Design: Ermisenda Alvarez

Ermisenda Alvarez, co-author at the Ermila blog, designed this beautiful cover for the novel I just finished. Those who follow Ermilia will be aware that Ermisenda has designed many book covers, including the covers for Ermilia’s own Blind Sight novels and other published works such as Ashok Banker’s Kali Rising series. You can view her portfolio page here, or check out her cost-free offer here.

Some of you read my novel in draft form, in whole or in part, under the title, Kate. It is currently in an edit manuscript under its new title. I sorted through several arrangements of Ermisenda’s design and settled on these as the two I really liked the most for the way they relate to Kate’s story. Whether you read Kate or not, I’d love to hear from you. This is your chance to tell me what you think of the new title, and help me decide which cover to choose, before it reaches publication.

Thanks so much!

♥ Annie

About Anne Schilde

Image "Webster's Kiss" © 2011 Anne Schilde Thanks always for reading! ♥
This entry was posted in Annie's World, Yay! and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Book Cover Design

  1. elaviel413 says:

    Oh my goodness, I love the cover and title! I admit I haven’t read the stories, but I will definitely buy your book! I love your entries, style, voice, and the way you breathe life into your short stories!
    In fact, I would love to exchange emails with you! Maybe you could sign a copy for me! 🙂
    Oh, and I like the second cover.

    • Anne Schilde says:

      Some of Ermi’s book covers are just amazing. I literally squeaked when she sent me the first concepts. First time I ever saw a book cover with my name on it.

  2. Ermilia says:

    Beautiful!

    -Eliabeth

  3. inthumysea says:

    You’re going to be famous! Err…I hope someday. hehe.

  4. joetwo says:

    Oooh! Me likey! 🙂 That Ermisenda’s got talent. I think the one on the left would suit the story better, give it an old-time vibe.

    • Anne Schilde says:

      She has several! I’m glad someone leaned that way. I think both suit the story differently. The one on the right is very close to what I imagined when I first talked to Ermi about it.

  5. Cat says:

    I love, love the covers! She’s done a beautiful job with it. I was going to go with the cover on the right because of its vibrant colours, and the eye is just drawn to it, but then I thought of the setting of the story. The time in which it’s set, etc., so I thought perhaps the cover on the left would suit it better. I voted A. 🙂

    • Anne Schilde says:

      I really am torn between them. I loved A without question, until Ermi sent me B today and it was like one of those hhhuh! moments… so close to what I first imagined.

  6. WordsFallFromMyEyes says:

    ANNE!!!! Awesome, awesome, awesome! 🙂

    How wonderful this is – and the book cover is great! I voted B and see most others did too. It’s just, A looks washed out.

    Annie, I am enormously happy for you. Congrats bit time.

    Author! 🙂

  7. I can’t decide- so I’m no help. I go back and forth.
    Then I wonder what would more likely to compel someone to buy it. I still go back and forth.
    I try to vote. I go back and forth.
    I’m writing to tell you that I am going back and forth.

  8. Bruce Ruston says:

    I prefer the one on the left too, I find the right one more distracting from the text in the foreground

  9. Brighter colours are always better! 🙂

  10. I dearly love the purple color on Cover B, but overall, I like Cover A better. It speaks to me.

  11. Adam Drake says:

    I love it! Can’t wait to buy my ::cough:: signed copy!

  12. Tincup says:

    Congratulations!! I like the colorful one…for whatever that is worth.

    • Anne Schilde says:

      Thanks, Tinc! Honestly, it’s hard to weigh the comments separately as votes because I don’t know if they were also votes or not, however your opinion matters a great deal to me. It occurred to me talking it over with a friend that a black and white cover might have served even better for Cover A. It doesn’t look like it’s going to matter. The preference so far is pretty strong in favor of Cover B, unanimously with everyone I’ve spoken to personally.

  13. Tanitha Smith says:

    This makes it seem so real… It’s actually a story! It will be a real, solid book! This is amazing, I’m so proud of you. I can’t wait! Will I be able to buy it anytime soon?

    • Anne Schilde says:

      It’s a book you will forever be a part of, Tanitha. ♥ I’m not sure how long it’s going to take. I’ve never done this before. I’m 14 chapters through cleaning up the manuscript. I should be able to give it to an editor in a couple of weeks? I’ll keep the status updated my Kate page.

  14. Oh, Anne, this is a toughy….!
    My preference is the one on the left with the bolder colouring. 😉

  15. Ermilia says:

    (Ermisenda here) Glad you all like the covers! I personally can’t decide either way. I’m glad you guys are giving the third perspective. I think you all agree, Kate, Anne, they both deserve to have a fantastic cover for the novel. 😀 I hope I did my part!

    – Ermisenda

  16. Sunshine says:

    personally, i think the bolder cover appeals to the senses quickly…it seems in this mass market world, one has to reach out fast or get lost in the crowd. fantastic either way you go, Anne! all the best energies flowing your way…♥

  17. Nanda says:

    Just did it, dear.
    Hope to read the whole novel real soon… Are you putting everything together to download?!

  18. Ermisenda is so talented! I’ve seen her works many times and wow! When I’ll be ready to publish she’ll be in my list of cover designers 🙂 Chose the B.

Comments are closed.