Spoiler Alert!!

spoiler

SPOILER ALERT!!

I’m going to leave this spoiler alert pinned here for a while.

About a year ago, kind of by accident, I started an on-line novel called Kate. You can find the whole thing at the menu branch of the same name above. I’m not going to waste a lot of time explaining the background here. You can figure out that story from the comments if you’re curious and you don’t already know it.

Blogging a story has unfortunate drawbacks: 1) new readers see a chapter, don’t realize it is one, and form opinions about me and my writing based on a fragment of a story; 2) current readers miss chapters; 3) worst, now that I’m at the end of the story, new or occasional readers, unaware that it’s in progress, read how it ends before they read anything else.

There are other drawbacks, but the point is there is nothing I can do about those problems except stop writing the story and I’m not going to do that. It wouldn’t be fair to those who have followed it so far. Sadly, this warning is only going to be viewed by a handful of people once it’s a couple of days old. But it’s here, it’s pinned, and it’s the best I can do.

So… if you’re interested in reading the story and don’t want to read the end of it first, watch my upcoming posts for anything tagged with “Kate”, or hotwords such as, Kate, Mae, Leon, Velvet Inn, Willow Bend, and some others I can’t list yet. If you want to catch up or make sure you haven’t missed something, click the menu link for a ToC. Each chapter links to the next at the end.

And of course, thanks always for reading! ♥

~ Annie

About Anne Schilde

Image "Webster's Kiss" © 2011 Anne Schilde Thanks always for reading! ♥
This entry was posted in Annie's World. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Spoiler Alert!!

  1. Oh, Anne; you are wonderful and so are your writings… 🙂

  2. joetwo says:

    It’s on my to do list! 😉

  3. elaviel413 says:

    Exciting! I haven’t even started reading your novel yet, so then I can just dive in from the beginning! Yay!
    🙂

  4. TheOthers1 says:

    I want to say I read part of that story somewhere. It’s excellent what I’ve read so far.

  5. WordsFallFromMyEyes says:

    Heya Anne,
    I totally get what you’re saying about change. People come out of ‘nowhere’ sometimes, & drop away. You never know the hows or whys – which actually, I’d love to know. For me, when I’ve subscribed but then unsubscribed, it has only been because I have found the stress of too many emails too much for me. Silly but true! So, here’s a true example, there’s one site I do like, but they post every day!!! So if I don’t get to the email for a week – work, hassle, life – there’s 7 emails for starters!!

    I’d be curious to know the whys – even why someone would pick up a book, be engaged, then wander away but leave it behind.

    Great you’ve new readers though – that’s fresh 🙂

    • Anne Schilde says:

      I lose readers about as often as I get them. That’s not really a concern. I just want to let new readers know there’s a novel in progress, so I don’t spoil the end for them if they care. You can turn off the email notifications on your subscriptions.

  6. Anna says:

    I always love reading Kate’s story, even though I never end up reading the chapters in order. One of these days I will do! I still maintain you should publish your work, the world needs to read more Annie.

    • Anne Schilde says:

      I really will publish it when I feel like it’s ready. I believe in my stories. It’s myself I tend to doubt. I just can’t imagine anything worse than spending the rest of my life wishing I’d written it differently.

  7. festivalking says:

    You are a writer?! O now I’m embarrassed! (lol) Thanks for honoring my blog with a comment 🙂

    Cheers!

Stuff You Get to Write

