Picking Locks

Click the (lock) pic for the original challenge. Written for Ermilia’s Picture It & Write. Haha, yeah, I know… I really want one of those Beamers!

I slid my silver M3 quietly to a stop behind a UPS delivery truck and surveyed the scene. The dockyard was quiet except for a delivery boy whistling as he loaded an empty hand truck into the back of the van. He tipped his cap toward the chirp of my electronic lock as he climbed in and drove off.

A twinge of remorse poked at my ribs from the inside as he rolled away. If only I’d started off with a normal job at that age. The choices we make are the ones we live with I guess. Anyway, that was water under a bridge I’d burned a long time ago.

It was an odd time of day for a warehouse delivery. The docks were closed, and I wasn’t expecting anyone around, but I wasn’t investigating UPS. I was hot on Annie’s trail and I knew I was getting close. I picked the padlock on the warehouse door like I had the key and rolled it open. It only took a moment to search out the breaker for the lights, revealing nothing but an empty room.

She’d been here alright. She’d stayed a while too, and probably within the hour. The rank musty smell in the wooden plank floor, echoing my new $1,400 Testoni wingtips, couldn’t hide the faint linger of Chanel Allure in the air. A rickety overhead fan and the rustling of a few pigeons in the rafters were the only other sounds disturbing the silence.

A month ago, that scent was just another perfume on a young brunette I threw a salty glance in the hotel bar. She looked like she didn’t get many of those. Her thin-lipped smile when she noticed me convinced me a guy my age had a chance. Some hand signals to the bartender and in moments, I had her singing to me like a canary in a cage. Twenty minutes later, I was handcuffed in my hotel room, my wallet and car keys were gone, and she knew everything I had in her file. My car smelled like Chanel Allure for a week after the police recovered it.

The lonely-looking, scrawny brunette who played me that night was a girl of the past. It was a busty ginger I was following now. Quite the looker too, from the glimpse caught by the surveillance camera at the airport. Green eyes now. Did it even matter? The only thing familiar about her would be the taste of her kiss, a kiss that would never catch me off guard again.

The methodical chopping of the ceiling fan brought me back to the task at hand. An office door stood ajar across the warehouse. It was the only thing not dressed in a Ralph Lauren suit that seemed out of place at all, except maybe the trail of women’s clothing leading toward it. I imagined Annie sitting nude in a chair, feet propped up, her smooth thighs disappearing behind a desk. Even in my imagination she was teasing me. I strolled over and pushed the door open with reserved caution.

There wasn’t much to see. This was the emptiest warehouse I’d ever found padlocked. Inside the small office was a desk, but with no naked reminder of my night in handcuffs. There were no papers or anything to indicate that it had ever been used for much, but it had been cleaned recently. The luster of the polish was proof of that. Only a pair of scissors and a small brown package sat on top of the desk. I turned the package aimlessly, but it was the floor behind the desk that caught my eye. A pile of freshly-chopped ginger locks lay against the wooden planking.

That’s when it hit me that this package was on the wrong side of a padlocked door. The UPS guy I’d passed wasn’t a guy at all. I could only smile as I looked back to read the name on the package: Kasey Scanlon. That’s my name, Sweetheart. I peeled the wrapper away slowly, but I didn’t really need to confirm my suspicions. The box inside contained my wallet. Empty of course.

I looked at the return address between my fingers and shook my head. I knew she was telling me where to look next. And I knew by the time I got there, she’d already be gone.

© 2012 Anne Schilde

About Anne Schilde

Image "Webster's Kiss" © 2011 Anne Schilde Thanks always for reading! ♥
This entry was posted in Annie's World and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Picking Locks

  1. joetwo says:

    Ha Ha! Good one! This “Annie” seems a right slippery customer! 🙂 A wonderful little read before I go to bed!

  2. good one – nicely written, a fun easy read. I like the play on words in the title with “Picking Locks” and the freshly- chopped ginger locks.

    Randy

  3. Diane Turner says:

    I love your choice of words:…water under a bridge I’d burned a long time ago. Alone each saying screams cliche, but melded it’s fresh. Nice piece. Thanks for sharing.

  4. Marian Green says:

    This is friggin’ awesome!!!! It reads like a fun, feisty who-dun-it and it’s just brilliant! I did get hung up on one line though… what did you mean by “It was the only thing not dressed in a Ralph Lauren suit that seemed out of place at all,”???

    Thanks for the escape. LOVED!

  5. Phil Gayle_For Singles and Couples says:

    Anne, for a moment I was thinking that you would have to put an over 18 warning on this one..lol! 😉
    I was telling someone recently that I’m not a fiction reader any-more…however, the way I get around that with the fiction-based Blogs I visit, is to imagine I’m reading about a scene from a TV show or movie, I was right there in this one.
    Very good twist…missed the girl but got his wallet back. 😛
    Have a great weekend.

    • Anne Schilde says:

      Hehe! Yeah, I’ve written a couple of steamy comments on Marian’s blog, but I don’t really put anything like that here. Some of the stuff in Kate isn’t exactly PG-13, I guess.

      I’m surprised at you, Phil! My blog isn’t fiction-based. It’s a mostly autobiographical documentary… completely historically accurate! …like my comments! Haha, you know what I love about fiction? No arguments!

      I am glad you liked the story, though. That’s true. 🙂

  6. Oh, excellent, Anne! A great read, indeed…
    She’s a slippery character this one… and he’s a real ‘bloke’…
    I love how you take the reader one way only to turn us around at the end…
    Fabulous… 🙂

  7. yerpirate says:

    Brilliant scene-setting – and very clever style used here. Brilliant humour – I love the way this guy is portrayed – he doesn’t even see his limitations! Wonderful story.

  8. II says:

    Hehe. Smart and devious.

  9. Ermilia says:

    Baahahahahaha I like this one.

    -Elia

    • Anne Schilde says:

      Congratulations on your recognition and thanks for thinking of me, Deana! I have kind of a huge backlog of these things I don’t have time for, but answering personal questions is always fun, so I’ll take the time for that right now…

      1. What is the best advice you have ever been given? I don’t know if it’s really advice or not… probably personal accountability. You know, that involves things like honesty and trust. Life’s a whole lot simpler if you offer those things.

      2. If tomorrow was your last day, what would you do? Every day is my last day. I live it as it comes to me and I’m eternally grateful. Haha, maybe that should have been my good advice answer.

      3. How old were you when you first truly felt love? Five. It was very fluttery and magical at that age.

      4. What is your favorite holiday and why? Halloween. I know, right? It’s not really a holiday. It’s the most fun to write for though.

      5. Do you believe in karma and why? Not exactly. Things happen for reasons, but I don’t believe in any direct cause and effect. Just look around. It’s more like the universe has moods. If you piss her off, she might slap you, or she might wait a month and blow up at you when you least expect it, or she might take it out on someone else who has no clue what they did wrong.

      6. What does this nomination mean to you? Hmm, I care if someone remembers one of my stories.

      7. If you could spend the day with 1 person, past or present, who would it be? Jessi. She’s been my best friend as long as I can remember.

      8. What do you like most about yourself? I guess maybe that my past isn’t written. It’s kind of cool that tomorrow I might have a memory I don’t have today.

      9. What do you like least about yourself? The depression. It’s really hard to deal with the emotions sometimes. I don’t mind all the tears, but I hate that people feel like they’re walking on eggshells around me.

      10. Why do you write? It’s in my character profile!

      11. What do you miss most about your childhood? School… being able to spend every day with Jessi.

  10. I couldn’t have guessed it was her! I’ve taken a liking to these fast girls, and I remember Joe writing something along a similar vein, interesting creatures.

  11. Nanda says:

    You always surprise me! Always.. I can never guess by the pic what’s the subject… Amazing!

Stuff You Get to Write

