Cogito Ergo Sum

Would I be even more dangerous if I didn’t?

I’ve read a couple… or maybe a couple hundred now… times about the importance of blog etiquette. Acknowledging each other and such. You know… we all care how many hits we get, and what better way to promote that than, “You follow me, I’ll follow you,” or, “I comment on everything I read so people will click me.”

I guess I do have some rules of etiquette. I make sure I respond to every comment on my posts. [Thank God I’m not famous!] Not sure about manners… it’s just the only life I have. I picked a forum in one weekly prompt and respond religiously to it, no matter who the participants are each week. That has a lot to do with how much time I have.

I have a handful of blogs I’ve discovered where very good fiction gets written and I will continue to shamelessly plug them, except for Marian’s, because I blush uncontrollably every time I read her escapades with the friend’s husband or with Mr. Intrigue. Please don’t mistake any of that for a plug… even though it really looks like one.

When I was thirteen, I noticed something that so far, I have never met anyone else who has noticed. My thoughts are not my own. They occur whether I initiate them or not. With me, that’s a pretty wild ride sometimes! And as always, thanks for reading! ♥

We live in this world of ownership where people claim copyrights and stuff. We stomp our feet down and stake claims to things and ideas that were never ours and which we were certainly not the first to find, think, or say. It’s so funny because one of the classical arguments for our own existence is that we initiate thought! Je pense donc je suis! But it’s just not true.

Descartes, if you’re rolling over in your grave, get over yourself. You’re so yesterday. Why would such a principal foundation of philosophy be centered on selfishness? That very thought was not your own!

So just seriously, I’m here to bleed. I love you all for being my razor or for being my tourniquet. If I leave a comment on your blog, I don’t need anything in return. If I leave a comment there or a post here, it’s because something inside me gave me a gift I don’t feel belongs to me. I’m just sharing it.

I love hearing when one of you says what I wrote mattered, but it doesn’t belong to me any more than my thoughts did. The way of things in life is that whoever I matter to the most… will likely thank someone who only knew me before I died. I’m good with that.

Etiquette is art, like any other form. If you share it, it will often be appreciated. But lots of us don’t appreciate etiquette, and that should never stop us from sharing it. Like all other art, it was never ours to keep. It was a gift that was meant to be shared.

Cogito ergo sum gratus.

© 2012 Anne Schilde

About Anne Schilde

Image "Webster's Kiss" © 2011 Anne Schilde Thanks always for reading! ♥
This entry was posted in Annietorials and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Cogito Ergo Sum

  1. joetwo says:

    Don’t knock yourself Anne. Even if the thoughts are not your own you have been their courier from non-existence to a form that we all can appreciate. That alone is worthy of some kudos.

  2. Phil Gayle_For Singles and Couples says:

    A fellow Blogger recently claimed that the notion of Copyrighting our posts etc. lacked any real weight, stating we are all copies of copies anyway.

    I totally agree with you concerning the sharing of art and that it’s created to be shared.
    However, as much as nothing is ever really truly original, if we take in all the external ‘inspiring’ stimulus around us.
    Looking at that stimuli as ingredients, when we put the ingredients together and prepare a meal, that meal becomes our original.
    Unique in the fact that we have created that meal and that our meal taste unlike any other…therefore an original to the creator of that meal.

    Without people giving proper accreditation to their sources it can become really difficult for “the artist” to live off their work.
    It’s fine for those who write, on the side, those who have their main job…they will probably share the ‘free for all’ philosophy concerning literary art more than those who want to earn from their art.
    The exception probably being the literary artist who has made enough money to be able to give things away for free. 🙂
    The Blogsphere is a strange world, containing a mixture of all of the above…some (like myself) want to share freely but also want accreditation and protection of certain posts etc. to be able to make a living off it, that’s probably why the copyright © appears frequently across the Blog world.

    One of the main reason why I try to develop some sort of relationship with the authors of the Blogs I follow, is for them to get to know me and understand that (where comments are concerned) I don’t comment for a ‘tit-for-tat’ response on my posts.
    I comment because I want to and I obviously would like to receive the same in return. 🙂

    As always Anne…thanks for the read.

    • Anne Schilde says:

      Quite the little book there, Phil! Mark Twain’s rant on plagiarism is too long to share here, but I’ll share this little clip: “It takes a thousand men to invent a telegraph, or a steam engine, or a phonograph, or a telephone or any other important thing — and the last man gets the credit and we forget the others.”

      Of course, I add the copyright to everything I write under my name. But then, my name is no more my own than my stories, is it? 🙂

      • Phil Gayle_For Singles and Couples says:

        Lol! Yes Anne.
        Concepts are usually born from an individual and shared with others but those words of Twain are also true.
        As for the copyright…I hear you…I’ve taken to doing the same (in areas). 😉

  3. II says:

    Case in point, I quote a friend, who probably quoted someone else…
    “Everything that you are and will be, already existed.”

  4. Nanda says:

    This made me think about Elizabeth Gilbert speech at TED. Have you seen it?? If not, I think you should have a look, it’s short!
    I miss you! ❤

  5. I, personally, love and have a great respect for the etiquette you have always shown. People seem to devalue things like kindness and respect by calling them weak, and yet all too often are too lazy or selfish to actually be kind or respectful. Your writing is amazing, but who you are (in the small glimpses you provide) is even more captivating.

    • Anne Schilde says:

      Aww… ♥ I just share what I’m given because it feels like it doesn’t belong to me. I do try really hard not to mess it up on the way. If you ever feel like someone devalued your kindness, send them my way, Adam. I’ll bite their ear off!

  6. “Everything he said, I remembered. Everything I said, he forgot.” – From the opening of “Conversations with a Mirror” (Which, by the way, has yet to be written. Like to give it a go?) 😉

Stuff You Get to Write

