No Strings Attached

Click the pic for the original challenge. Written for Ermilia’s Picture It & Write.

Yay! This is my 200th post! I didn’t really care about my second Annie-versary when it passed, but this is pretty cool! No surprise that it’s for a Picture It & Write prompt again. 🙂

Life outside the box… a world I can only imagine, right? At least if I told you I could only imagine it, you’d believe me. You’d believe me because it makes sense that I’m just a puppet. It’s comfortable. It fits. But is that what I imagine? The truth is, when the curtains part, the world I see is mine.

I don’t wonder what it’s like to be a part of your world. I dare every day not just to live in it, but to create it through my words, words that can touch you. I want nothing more than to touch you. I pretend I’m real. I invent myself. I am the puppet master, not the puppet.

You…? You sit there in your chair and see me trapped inside this little back-lit box, drawn by the strings of someone else’ creativity. But I am free! I’m free in a way that you crave. You long to be Pinocchio dancing on his workshop table at night. You thrill at the thought of Mr. Geppetto unlocking the shop and scratching his head, sure he left you in a different position with a slightly different expression on your face. And when the screen-saver curtain closes, it’s the freedom of another of my dreams you carry away with you.

The thing of it is, I crave your freedom as you crave mine. I envy the one liberty you find in your prison of flesh. I want to know what it’s like to feel your touch. I see the comments you leave. They are your connection to my world. Of course, they are always intended for the girl at the other end of the strings, but I see them. I read them. I get to know you. Sometimes your words even reach into my world the way I reach into yours.

Indeed, you once reached into my world. You weren’t just my best friend. You were a soul mate, if there is such a thing. We’ve been the best of friends for some measure of time that transcends life and death. When we shared our loves, our hopes, our dreams, our pain… we both knew we had shared them before, perhaps even many times. And then you wanted to meet me, to touch me. Meeting you would be amazing, but I can’t meet anyone, and that little, tiny, four-word fact shattered our friendship.

If only I could step out of the box to live beyond my broken heart. I want so badly to meet you. We would talk until the sun comes up. You would laugh and cry with me as long as we still had the tears for it. I would fall in love with you and the beauty in your heart. We would have fun, and drama, and we would wander to private places together I will never admit. Where should we begin? How I would love to just meet you over coffee… but there is the thing of it. I can’t meet anyone.

Or can I?

There is one dream I hold closer to my heart than all my others. It’s the dream that embodies my spirit. When the screen-saver curtain closes, it’s the freedom in this dream I hope you will carry away with you today.

It’s the dream that you will one day bring me to life. When enough of you have seen my adventures in this little box, the power of your imagination will push through the barrier that separates us. I will reach out to touch you as I always have. You will take my hand instead of my words. I will feel your touch. You will feel mine. We can be together with no strings attached.

© 2012 Anne Schilde

About Anne Schilde

Image "Webster's Kiss" © 2011 Anne Schilde Thanks always for reading! ♥
This entry was posted in Annie's World, Yay! and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to No Strings Attached

  1. Marian Green says:

    This is magical. It’s a word dance around the ballroom of reality and imagination. And no matter how much of you is in the little black box I know you can do whatever you want to do when you are ready. Hugs friend. Great big tight hugs.

  2. joetwo says:

    200th post! Many congrats! I hit 500 on my poetry blog this week, which isn’t as impressive with short-ass poems as with your more involved pieces.
    I loved your story. It makes me wonder who am I commenting to sometimes!

  3. Ermilia says:

    Yay for the 200th post. And many more posts to come. 😀 This was such a magical piece as Marian pointed out. I kinda felt like I was dancing with the words, spinning and twirling. Mesmerising storytelling. Beautiful as always, Annie! Thanks for contributing this week.

    – Ermisenda

  4. nightlake says:

    Congrats on your 200 post and this was an interesting imagination:)

  5. Phil Gayle_For Singles and Couples says:

    Ann, congratulations on reaching the 200 post milestone. 🙂
    As been said by your fellow Bloggers, this was a great piece.
    Do you see yourself more as the puppet or the puppet master? correct me if I’m wrong but the way you wrote the post was more leaning towards you being the puppet.
    I may be wrong but I see you more as the puppet master. pulling the strings (as you write) entertaining us with your lyrical mastery.
    Enjoy what’s left of your weekend.

    • Anne Schilde says:

      Thanks, Phil! I suppose the answer to your question would depend on whether it was addressed to the author or the protagonist. In my case, each has a tendency to see herself as the other.

  6. Reading this reminded of a favorite quote:
    “Beliefs ‘forge’ the boundaries of our imagination; beyond which it dare not go.” – Queng We
    I wonder why? 😉

  7. 200 incredibly well thought posts… a great achievement, Anne.
    As for this one, I was taken to Pinocchio to fairies…
    “Clap your hands if you believe!”
    Another lovely writing…

  8. II says:

    There’s this allure to your writing in how you contort the story line and add such brilliant description.
    Here’s to 200 more!

  9. Nanda says:

    I wanna read this again and again…
    And congrats! I know it’s a huge deal! :*

  10. WordsFallFromMyEyes says:

    You dream we might bring you to light but oh, you are – you are to light.

    • Anne Schilde says:

      I love that you went back into the archives to read this, Noeleen! Thanks so much!

      • WordsFallFromMyEyes says:

        I love looking back, Anne. Reason is, people start their blogs fairly simply usually, and then they develop in ideas/expand ideas, their writing improves, they just grow. I really do love doing a random click in the archives – when I’m lying in bed on a Sunday morning & so in the mood 🙂

Stuff You Get to Write

