Marionette

Amazing! This photo was exactly the dream I had this morning! ♥

Sitting slumped in my chair, listening to a soft lilting melody, my body is immersed in peace. The chair is an extension of my being, reflecting my past, guiding me forward, anchoring me in myself. I love it here! Where could I rather be? I am such a beautiful place because of you.

The gentle tug of strings at my hands lifts me from the chair. I know these strings so well. I’ve felt them all my life. They are your love, your support, your guidance. They are the way you caught my hand after my first step, the way you smiled when I did something right, the way you cried the day I left home. They are the faith you’ve always had in me. I dance wherever they pull me. It’s the perfect thing for me to do.

I twirl about in the soft grey dawn of my dreams. My steps fall light and sure, each with its gentle tug to remind me you were always there for me. The tiny seed of hope you once cradled in your arms has blossomed in my heart. The strength in my toes is the joy of knowing I will always be your little girl. Beautiful because you could never see me any other way.

You dance in me, Mama. Every little piece of yourself you’ve given dances in concert with my soul. These strings at my wrists and at my feet will always be there. Never tangled. Never taut. The music spills about me, showering me in cascades of this wonderful moment. I exhaust myself in it. Until tired, happy, my hair and my dress falling gracefully, I slump back into my chair. My heart is full.

I’m so lucky I’m your little girl! I’m a beautiful place to be. Beautiful because you could never see me any other way.

© 2012 Anne Schilde

About Anne Schilde

Image "Webster's Kiss" © 2011 Anne Schilde Thanks always for reading! ♥
This entry was posted in Annie's World and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Marionette

  1. Lovely piece Anne…. xoxoxo

  2. Thu says:

    So delicate and beautiful.

  3. yazrooney says:

    This really brought a tear to my eye. I’ll know my life is successful if I can earn this kind of tribute to my mothering. I hope one day to read something as powerful as this from my daughter. Thank you for this.

    • Anne Schilde says:

      I called my mom and read it to her and we both cried too. Thanks so much for your wonderful comment. I bet your daughter will read or say some very powerful things to you one day!

  4. Lori says:

    This is beautiful, made me cry a little. Sarah’s been cleared to dance again. I love you.

Stuff You Get to Write

