Blah, Blah, Blah…

Of course, someone gave me an award for talking too much! Duh, blabbing!

So this is another Yay! post! I realize Blah, Blah, Blah… might seem like a funny title for a Yay! post, but really it’s very appropriate, because “blah” is about my third favorite word behind “stuff” and “grr!” and because what I really want to talk about is comments.

Now, today is kind of a special day for me, because today, you all pushed the end of the world out past 10,000 days (thanks for doing this to me after midnight btw)! That’s sometime in 2039 now. I guess those Mayans can just go out and get themselves another rock, cuz they have a few more days to chisel out! Woo hoo! Seriously, 10,000 hits is kind of a big deal to me, and so thank you all, but I really wanted to talk about comments and about a few other bloggers, and while it would be pretty funny if the Mayans had a blog, I’m pretty sure they don’t.

I want to start with Kelly Worrall, who inspired this post by doing something very special for me. I’m a faceless nom de plume, an e-personality. Pseudonyms don’t get to have real friends. This is hard to explain, but that really cuts me to the core sometimes. I’ve learned to live with, and even written about, that loneliness. On June 21st, Kelly wrote something for me that made me feel more real and less lonely than I ever thought I could possibly feel. I’ll let her post speak for itself – it’s called For Anne – and I will just thank her from the bottom of my very real heart.

Kelly is a very entertaining, very bright, and very funny person, with a talent for writing and for playing guitar. But her blog isn’t about her fun side. It’s about sexuality and identity and her challenging personal journey, with some pretty heartbreaking moments that took amazing courage to share. I invite you to bounce around and take a look, and of course, leave a comment or two. 🙂

The next blogger, Alice, is pseudonymous like me, and so she is me in a sense… well, maybe more the Kate Fairbank in me. Alice has also reached out through her comments and in one of her posts to make me feel like I’ve mattered to her in a very personal way too. The first time I read one of her thank yous I literally locked my office door and cried for fifteen minutes. It was simply the biggest moment of my whole life. ♥

Alice symbolizes the impetus of my writing. She’s what I look like on the inside. I mean we all have different stories. I write literary fiction, and I often write about very uncomfortable but real situations. What Happened to Alice? is a diary of sorts that talks candidly about the emotional trauma faced by an abuse victim. Follow her link, read her amazing story, and meet an eloquent and very beautiful person.

Now, I have to at least give a quick shout out to Kwadwo at logo-ligi, who on June 9th, gave me this Commenter Award, which I think is a polite way of saying I talk too much. Not news, especially if you’ve ever read any comments I leave at blogs that give me a release for my humor. Anyway, Kwadwo posts flash fiction pieces, interesting pictures, poetry and some other stuff, so bounce over there too, if that sounds like something you might like.

I’m pretty much done with this blog award thing, but if there is something I continually want to acknowledge, it’s comments! I don’t do rules and this one was kind of weird anyway, straight up spam. I’m supposed to pass it on to 10 people, or… what? The Mayans are really going to be right? Yo check it out. If you’re a Mayan… the world ended a long time ago, dudes!

So I’m not passing out an award here exactly. These five bloggers are (according to WordPress) my top commenters, and so I am going to pay forward a little of the beautiful spirit of what Kelly and Alice have done for me…

Ermilia – Ermi, I would not be the writer I am without you. It’s just that simple. From my first timid posts on Picture It & Write to the latest chapter of Kate, the encouragement and friendship you’ve given me, both on and off of WordPress, have meant the world to me. You have been nothing but support in every word you have ever shared with me. So much of what I have become is directly from your inspirational words and the amazing pictures you choose for only the best writing prompt on WordPress! You talked me past my fear of Kate and led me into an unbelievable journey with that story.

I just love you, Ermi! Thank you!

The Chatter Blog – Back in February, Colleen, you left a comment on a post I did for the last Write Wednesdays. It said, “I will dedicated myself to commenting more. It does matter, the feedback we get. Or, don’t get.” Since then, I have noticed so many of your beautiful comments on other blogs! Powerful! Loving! Supporting! Especially in the situations where someone touches sensitive emotion and needs that extra compassion. And WOW! The comments you’ve left me on Kate and some of my other posts! You’ve taken the time, not just to comment but to interact with me. You teach me to believe in my story and to believe in myself.

I just love you, Colleen! Thank you!

The Mind of Tanitha – Confession time. Lucy, I actually wrote my recent To My Readers post with the tears from one of your comments still wet on my cheeks. It was hardly the first time. As a fiction writer, there is nothing more gratifying than someone who lives in your world with you. You dive into my stories and become my characters and then tell me in the comments how it felt to be them. You bring them to life for me and you make me feel like my dreams come true.

I just love you, Lucy! Thank you!

PCC Advantage – Christy, going back to the beginning of this blog, you are easily my top commenter. More than that, you have been, since I moved here in September 2011, both my comment role model and my comment inspiration. Every word you leave for others is enthusiastic and edifying. Your posts have inspired some comments that were a lot of fun for me, and your comments have inspired a couple of very enjoyable stories! It’s what you meant to me when I first came here, a little bit nervous and a lot depressed, that inspired me to start taking the time to tell other people what I love about them… haha, or in your case, litter your blog with silliness! You also take the extra step to engage me in your comments and I cherish our giggling moments together.

I just love you, Christy! Thank you!

Cenicitas – Nanda, you’ve been busy with school and moving and stuff lately, and still managed to stay in my top five! That’s because before you were busy, you were my most frequent commenter. Did I mention you’ve been cooking? And may I say, YUM! You offer me so much empathy, I feel like you’re my sister… from another mother/country/language… and stuff. I’m probably one of your top commenters too for a reason. 🙂 The raw, honest emotion you give me (and others) in both your work and your comments rocks my world.

I just love you, Nanda! Thank you!

There are lots of you who leave lots of amazing comments. Every single one of them matter to me. Some of you are new. Some are here less frequently. Some are in the top ten and if WordPress hadn’t just dropped you from the stats, you’d be here too! The point is you all matter. Even those of you who have taken the time to say you are not good at commenting but agree with another comment!

Nothing… could matter more to me… than to know that I mattered to someone else. I hope it’s not just blah, blah blah, that you matter to me. And if someone commented on your blog and it made a real difference to you… maybe pay it forward and feel free to snag the award in the process if you’re so inclined.

I just love you all! Thank you!

♥ Annie

About Anne Schilde

Image "Webster's Kiss" © 2011 Anne Schilde Thanks always for reading! ♥
This entry was posted in Annietorials, Yay! and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Blah, Blah, Blah…

  1. joetwo says:

    I don’t know if you got it but I included you in one of my homage poems on my other blog a while back. It was a similar idea to what you did here, Keep up the good work. Joe
    http://joe2poetry.wordpress.com/2012/06/12/thanks/

  2. Anna says:

    You’re so lovely to take the time out to thank people! Your posts are deserving of the highest regard, and the nicest comments- reading your posts is an absolute pleasure, and you’re one of the most wonderfully kind people I have met while I’ve been here! Many congratulations on the 10,000 hits- here’s to 10,000 more! 🙂

  3. Thu says:

    Your writing is awesome. You are awesome. Keep being awesome :]

  4. Chatter Master says:

    What a wonderful gift you just gave me Anne. I have been gone from blogland for a few days thought…hmmm, I’m sure it didn’t really matter. The storms here have devastated quite a few areas. So not having electric and having other things take priority I have been unable to read, write or comment. And to know it matters, well, that was just wonderful. And to know that you feel connected makes me feel wonderful. Of course, I appreciate the love you share with everyone. I think it is wonderful that you took the time to do this.

    And CONGRATULATIONS!
    I still don’t have electric but I think we will have some “service” when I get home. I will be back in full swing soon!

    🙂 You made my day!

  5. Anne, I wouldn’t comment unless I apsolutely loved the writing, and with you I just can’t help but comment every time! I love Kate and I love reading about her and I always want to give feedback because it’s important for the author to know that kinda stuff 🙂
    On a side note, how do you know my name?! I nearly had a heart attack when I saw that! Everyone just calls me Tanitha 🙂

    • Anne Schilde says:

      I always call you Tanitha too, and I still will, but I love the name Lucy and for this comment, it seemed better. ♥ Your Dad calls you Lucy sometimes and it’s in your email address.

  6. Ermilia says:

    I just love you, Annie! Thank you so much! 🙂 You leave me speechless. ❤ Your stories and identity will, of course, surpass any silly ancient calendar. 😛

    – Ermisenda

  7. Nanda says:

    Awwwwwww! Such kind words for such a bad friend, haha
    You’re awesome, Annie… I love your blog, your stories, the fact that you’re always around even when I went missing… Thank you so much for everything!!!
    I love you! We have such deep connections it’s weird to try to explain in here… 🙂

  8. WordsFallFromMyEyes says:

    Totally lovely, Anne 🙂 I love to hear a yay post from you! Out past 10,000 overnight, quietly, as you slept…

    WhatHappenedToAlice is a great site – & Chattermaster. Excellent highlights, Anne. And congrats.

  9. Ah, that’s lovely that you’re thanking people. Really have to say the blogging community is so fantastic! Really supportive and helpful, isn’t it?

    • Anne Schilde says:

      Totally! I don’t think I could be any more sincere when I say, ” Thanks always for reading! ♥” Those who take the time to enjoy what I write make it all worth it and a comment here or there means so much to me!

  10. Okay, first of all, I’m SO sorry that I’m only reading this post NOW, Annie!! This is the first time I’ve logged into WP since before I left on holiday, so that’s why it’s such a late response.

    Secondly, I adore your comments on my blog and I’m so very happy that we virtually-met here. 🙂 You are talented, creative, inspiring, and absolutely hilarious. Every time that I see you’ve written a new post, I get a little excited and then I’m ALWAYS blown away by what you’ve written.

    Always.

    I just love you, Annie!!! Thank you! 😀

Stuff You Get to Write

