Which Witch?

Click the pic for the original challenge. Written for Ermilia's Picture It & Write.

“Look, Mama! The trees are made of candy!” Annie stumbled along in tow, unable to match the pace of her mother’s long strides.

“Quit dragging your feet, Annie. Can’t you see it’s getting late? The park closes at sunset.”

“But they’re made of candy!”

“Don’t be ridiculous. It’s just the autumn colors in the sunset, and that means it’s getting late and the park will be closing soon.”

Annie glued her eyes to the path as she tripped behind. There was no sign of cookie crumbs anywhere. Maybe the birds already got them.

“Do you think we’ll see them?” she asked.

“See what?”

“Not what. Do you think we’ll see Hansel and Gretel?”

“Why on Earth would we see Hansel and Gretel?”

“Because the trees are made of candy.”

“Annie, you better learn to watch that imagination of yours. You’ve seen how much trouble it gets you into.” She let go of Annie’s hand, and slowed the pace a little to allow her daughter to keep up.

“Well, what about the witch?”  Annie’s voice was already trailing from a distance. “Will we see her?”

Her mother whirled to find Annie stooping to pick up a handful of leaves from the ground. “Flower Anne!” she shrieked, as the red leaves found their way to Annie’s curious tongue. “Spit that out this instant!”

Annie spat the leaves out, not in obedience, but in disappointment. It certainly wasn’t very good candy. Her mother snatched her hand again, pulling her too hard. She fell and skinned her knee, and then stumbled to her feet again to keep from being dragged.

“Will we?” she asked, trying to brush the stinging away from her knee with her free hand as she trotted to keep up.

“Will we what?”

“See the witch.”

“Which witch is that?”

“The one with the gingerbread house.”

“What did I tell you about your imagination?” She jerked harder on Annie’s hand. “What makes you think there would be a witch now?”

“Because the trees are made of candy.”

“I already explained, they are not made of candy.”

“Well they look like candy.”

“Hurry along.” The irritation was really beginning to show in her mother’s voice. “I don’t know who puts these ideas in your head. There are no candy trees in Hansel and Gretel.”

“Nuh, hu-uh, Miss Murray read…”

Her mother’s hand stung her sharply on the cheek. “What have I told you about sass mouthing me, little Miss?”

Annie stood frozen, her eyes watery from the stinging. If she blinked, it would make tears, so she strained to keep her eyes open. Her mother didn’t seem to care for the resulting expression, but she turned again and this time Annie followed along quietly. Her eyes darted back and forth in silence. There was a wicked witch in these woods. She could feel her evil, but maybe it wasn’t the best thing to say so.

© 2012 Anne Schilde

About Anne Schilde

Image "Webster's Kiss" © 2011 Anne Schilde Thanks always for reading! ♥
This entry was posted in Annie's World and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Which Witch?

  1. Ermilia says:

    Wow! I loved it. I really love the bickering between mother and daughter, it felt really authentic, especially the build up of the mother’s irritation. I just adore the twist from the witch being an external evil or “witch” to the mother.

    “There was a wicked witch in these woods. She could feel her evil, but maybe it wasn’t the best thing to say so.” – LOVED IT! A fantastic ending. It delivered the full blow of the revelation. I also adored this part because it made me smile – “”Flower Anne!” she shrieked, as the red leaves found their way to Annie’s curious tongue.” Great work, Annie. Thanks for contributing this week at Picture it & write. 🙂 Its always a delight to read your work!

    – Ermisenda

  2. rumpydog says:

    Yep, I think she was looking in the wrong direction…

  3. Chatter Master says:

    Yes Annie there seems to be a witch about.

  4. Love the ending! Why is it that there is always someone in your stories I just want to kick the crap out of?

  5. terri0729 says:

    Great job Anne! I hope that wicked witch gets old mommy dearest there at the end of the woods!!! lol! I really enjoyed it a lot. 🙂 hugs, Terri

  6. Hahaha! Fantastic story, Annie! Loved it! 🙂

    • Anne Schilde says:

      Little Flower Anne is the character that comes to life the most in my head. She’s so full of ideas that are just going to get her in trouble. Glad you liked it and thanks for all your great comments!

  7. Hansel and Gretel was one of my very favourite fairy tales when I was a little girl. And that was also obviously because of the candy and gingerbread house… yum yum! 🙂 You did skilfully emphasise the endless flow of imagination of children and its sharp contrast with the rational world of adults. Well done!

    • Anne Schilde says:

      Mine too, right? What could be better than a story full of candy and cookies? It’s funny, writing these you kind of feel both sides emotionally and end up bickering with yourself. Thanks, MD!

  8. You do such lot with so few words. The photos are brilliant. When I read Hansel and Gretel I imagined the house to made of marzipan because I loved it so much. I still do. So it was gingerbread, was it? Or did I read a different version? I know I really wanted a lick. And just a bite or two. At the same time I knew once started I might finish the lot. Maybe I wanted it to be marzipan so much, I changed it in my head. I can almost taste that little house now.

    • Anne Schilde says:

      Ermilia provides the fabulous photos for PIaW. I don’t know of a marzipan version, but I see no reason not too picture it in the most delicious way! And candy trees like Flower Anne did! Nibble nibble little mouse… Thanks always for reading!

  9. I really liked this story. The little girl reminded me of myself with her vivid imagination. I used to imagine things like my stuffed animals came to life when I was asleep and that my clothes would talk to each other when I closed the closet door.

    • Anne Schilde says:

      I always thought I had no imagination at all until I thought about all the silly things I used to imagine when I was little. I really believed I saw fairies (thanks Nana). I’m glad to see you, Ribbons! Especially if I could offer a smile. 🙂

  10. joetwo says:

    I caught the links in Ermilia’s publication page. I missed a lot of good stuff during my exile. Nice write.

Stuff You Get to Write

