My Naked Moment

Click the pic for the original challenge. Written for Ermilia's Picture It & Write.

In the darkest part of my darkest moods, near where the heartache searches for solace, sits a beautiful moment. It sits in that place because that place is where it belongs. It deserves to be clutched in my arms, and there, next to the fear, just behind where tears start, is where I sit.

Alone on my bed… wearing only a teddy, a trace of his favorite perfume, and my anticipation… I’m waiting.

For that moment, Eric was mine. Wrapped in each others’ embrace, our panting chests tightly clutched together, he slowly subsided within me and our mingled warmth trickled and cooled between us on the sheets. He turned his head to stare out the motel window resting it on my shoulder.

“I don’t want to go, Babe,” he said dreamily.

My nose was used to the light scent of his Old Spice. The smell of his sweat found its way through to tickle my lungs, and I pushed closer to hold onto what was left of our passion.

“It’s only for eighteen months,” I whispered to the wall. “It’ll be over before you know it.”

His arms squeezed me ever more tightly. “Save this spot for me. When I get back…”

The be-be-beep, be-be-beep of his wristwatch alarm interrupted my assured promise of never-ending sex.

“Shit!”

He pushed me off of him and was back in his uniform, practically before I could even pull the covers up to shield me from the window.

“I love… you…” I sighed to the closing door. A few seconds later it opened again. Eric raced across the room to grab his cap from the window sill. He skidded to a stop, stepped back to peck one last affection on my lips, and he was gone.

That was eighteen months ago. Today is the day Eric comes home to me. I’m sitting here alone on my bed, in my teddy, waiting for that promise to be fulfilled, the promise I never heard. I saved that spot just as he asked. But Eric’s not coming home. So I sit here with my naked moment, near where the heartache searches for solace, and listen again to the last words he ever heard me say.

“It’ll be over before you know it.”

© 2012 Anne Schilde

About Anne Schilde

Image "Webster's Kiss" © 2011 Anne Schilde Thanks always for reading! ♥
This entry was posted in Stuff... cuz I like to write stuff! and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to My Naked Moment

  1. rumpydog says:

    Oh this one is heart-wrenching! You amaze me with your ability to pull such emotional responses from your readers.

    • Anne Schilde says:

      Thanks so much, Rumpy! I wish I was better at some of the happy joy joy ones… maybe with more practice.

      • dinkerson says:

        I think you’re good at both. But this one was really gut wrenching indeed. Especially so when paired with your song “Almost”. Which I listened to while I read this.

        The insight that your posts provide into the inner workings of the female mind are unmatched.

        For instance, your description of the girls pain in “Dead End Streets” was just epic.

        I want you to know that I think you’re one of the best I’ve read. In fact, I wouldn’t doubt that you’re a famous author and I sound like a fool telling you how good you are.

      • Anne Schilde says:

        Haha, wouldn’t that be just downright devious of me? I’ll just start the rumor now… I’m really Harper Lee. Not really, but I just read her novel and it was the bomb!!!

        I want you to know that’s one of the best compliments I’ve read. I sure haven’t heard it yet. One thing’s for sure, if you’re gonna say such nice things, I’d be a fool to call you a fool! Thanks always for reading, Nathan! ♥

      • dinkerson says:

        I’m reading Harper Lee as we speak. How cool is that?

        Oh, and I’m also overseeing a project in Holcomb Kansas where Lee’s buddy Capote did his research for “In Cold Blood”

        But anyway, I never lay it on thick. You really are just that good Anne. And I’ve read some of the greatest. 🙂

  2. Kyle says:

    Love it Annie!!

  3. Ermilia says:

    Ouch! You just pulled a heart-string. Great work, Annie. That was so touching and tender. You made me shiver at the end. I love your opening paragraph so much. I don’t know what it is about it… but it sets the scene so perfectly. ‘It deserves to be clutched in my arms, and there, next to the fear, just behind where tears start, is where I sit.’ Argh! There goes another heart string. Stunning.

    – Ermisenda

  4. Oh my gosh. This is heartrendingly beautiful and tragic and moving and… I could go on. But I have to go cry now.

  5. Nanda says:

    wow!
    i can actually say that when i finished it a cold shiver run through my spine! that’s so sad, annie! really good spin, tho!

  6. terri0729 says:

    Oh Anne!!! how sweet and sad – chocked full of emotion!!! I loved it 🙂 hugs, Terri

  7. Anna says:

    This is so beautiful and so very sad. You give me writer’s envy, Anne, with your amazing words 🙂

  8. Aww this is such a lovely piece of writing.

  9. WordsFallFromMyEyes says:

    Anne, I felt all the beauty of your moment together, and then him in uniform (I liked that picture in my head), but the ending, you with your teddy bear, your naked moment. This one is very painful. But so very well written.

Stuff You Get to Write

