Annie’s World

NON-FICTION ALERT! Haha, I had to say that. There are so many times I feel like I should be putting a fiction alert on everything else I write.

Written for Mindslam’s Write Wednesdays #19. Click the pic for the original challenge.

Week 19 Idea: What do you enjoy most about blogging?

Let me begin by saying that I don’t blog. Not in the sense of what I think blogging really is, which is basically narcissistic Facebook status updates without the character limit. I pride myself in the fact that this – my 107th post – is only the second about me* and my blog. I did it once before for my first Annie-versary and even then, I wrote it as a comedy about my addiction to love of blog statistics and dedicated it to several people who are the reasons I had the strength to keep writing for a year. You can read it here if you like.

Before I go on, there is nothing wrong with real blogging. There are a lot of bloggers out there whose narcissistic status updates are a fabulous treat to read! I’m just not one of them. Most of you who know me at all, know me only through my comments.

What I love the most about blogging, is what I love most about life: interaction with people. You! There are very talented and creative writers out there posting amazing things to read. There are very supportive and loving readers out there saying amazing things about what I write. What’s not to love? I make that sound simple, but for me, it’s my life.

When I dedicated the Versatile Blogger award, I dedicated it to people who comment on my blog. At face value, that sounds selfish, but it’s really not at all. I did it because those people comment on other blogs too, and it’s the people who have the versatility to take the time to tell others what they did right, and sometimes wrong, who deserve the most recognition in my opinion. By the way, if you are one of those people, there are still 11ish openings for that award. 🙂

Writing fiction is my passion. As I wrote in Dear Sarah (Write Wednesdays #13), “I could never imagine something more exciting than to be able to create a whole world that didn’t exist until you breathed life into it with your words.” Blogging breathed life into Annie’s World. More amazingly, it brought other people there with me and through their comments, they have shown me things I didn’t even know were there!

I tend to write autobiographically, so little by little as I write these stories, I add to that world in my heart. It’s changing me and literally shaping who I am, even shaping how I dream and the things I dream about. It’s become a fascinating place for me to go, and sometimes I enjoy reading it (talk about narcissism) as much as anyone else would… not so much newer stuff maybe, but you know, older stuff I forgot I wrote.

The other morning, I woke up and read a comment from Tanitha Smith on Secrets in the Sea. For the very first time, it hit me, really hit me, that there are people who actually care what I’m going to write next. I started crying. I know, I kind of do that a lot. I’m sorry. I cried because I felt like I mattered. That’s a really big deal to me. It’s probably very hard for some of you to understand, but I really don’t matter to anyone else but you.

So for those of you who regularly take the time to comment: You are more than just what I love the most about blogging. You are my heart and my soul. You are Annie’s World. Thanks always for reading! ♥

Before I go, it would be wrong for me to talk about what I enjoy the most about blogging and not mention the two prompts I write to. Picture It & Write and Write Wednesdays have been the best things ever for my growth as a writer. Write Wednesdays really needs more contributors, so if you have the time…

© 2012 Anne Schilde

* See? This is why I don’t do non-fiction. Grr! Some people may have read Loneliness and the Protagonist from 11/8/2010. Yes, it was very much about me. Yes, it contains almost enough truth to be considered a “real” blog post.

About Anne Schilde

Image "Webster's Kiss" © 2011 Anne Schilde Thanks always for reading! ♥
This entry was posted in Annie's World, Annietorials and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Annie’s World

  1. Chatter Master says:

    Creating worlds. Love it. I admire your commenting on other people’s blogs, I see your feedback on a lot of blogs. I will dedicated myself to commenting more. It does matter, the feedback we get. Or, don’t get.

  2. Nanda says:

    I love it! Cause I know exactly how you feel… Kinda invisible on the outside… but here there are people to cheer our accomplishments and so on… it’s a very huge deal! ❤

  3. rumpydog says:

    Really? You think I’m narcissistic? But that’s June Buggie’s role!

    • Anne Schilde says:

      Actually, I would have to say your blog rates up there as one of the most selfless blogs I read, Rumpy. Almost everything you post is for the betterment of animals. But yeah, you know we all have to be willing to write to ourselves as an audience in order to start one of these silly blog things, dontcha think? There really is nothing wrong with it (I hope).

  4. lapiskamay says:

    when I was reading this post, I knew you were born to right. That’s your destiny Ma’am and I’m having a great opportunity to read your craft. Blogging is such a blessing, I thought I wont be able to write again and for the love it taken away as I stepped out of college. But then blogging is one of the best that ever happens to me, maybe to you, and for all those writers and artists out there. May God favor you in the next posts to come.

  5. sabbage says:

    I’m glad that you think there’s nothing wrong with narcissistic Facebook updates.

  6. Anne, this is so lovely. You do matter, you know. I feel much of what you’re saying – this community here, it’s something else. Yes, it is virtual. Yes, none of us have eyed each other, have stood in the same room as each other, but mentally – it’s mentally we’re all connecting, commenting, feeling, passing around what we think. We’re having a mental relationship, which really is a valid as an in flesh relationship, just on a different plane. 107 posts is great 🙂 Congrats. I know I’m not regular like clockwork, but I do enjoy coming by. Your expressions are nonstop, and you do write really well.

  7. Paprika says:

    Comments really does matter… I’ve experienced the overwhelming sensation of being appreciated and encouraged =) esp. when I was going through a really really bad phase in my life and when the REAL people around me seemed like a bunch of vultures waiting to pounce on me at the right moment!! *sigh* you kinda put me in the right track with you wonderful inputs on my drawing Anne =) I really appreciate it =) now all the magazines in the house have pen marks on it =P

    I really do enjoy your writing but I’m seriously bad at giving productive comments(some of the commenters in your blog rock!!!) =( and I think it’ll sound a bit repetitive and boring if I say “amazingg work Anne” always <- which I do when it gets hold of my brain =D

    Blogging inspires me. It motivates me to work harder. And the best part is I can meet people like you and many others who inspires me!! =D

    Ok, so I don't have a punch line to end this comment so, Three Cheers for you Anne!! =D (that sounds lame, I know =P)

    • Anne Schilde says:

      That’s an awesome comment! You have a natural eye for art in both your drawing and your photography, so it’s really great to know I helped encourage you! LOL @ the pen marks!!

  8. I loved this post! I think it’s so true, about writing creating your own little world. I love the way that in that world, anything can happen. Sometimes I think I’d rather live there than the real world 🙂 Anyway! What I was meant to say was, this is a truly lovely post and I think your non-fiction is just as funny and witty and engaging as your fiction 🙂 Long live Annie’s World!

  9. My main motivation in keeping on blogging is also the readers out there. Those people are just so wonderful! You definitely feel less lonely 🙂

  10. lorrelee1970 says:

    Wonderful post and I agree with evinumphstuff. This world is it’s own community and it’s nice to feel welcome, appreciated and comfortable enough to knock on someone else’s door and step inside for a peek. This “blog” thing has given me an opportunity to write again after 10 years of virtually nothing, just a bunch of stuff in boxes. I really love the variety and talent of writers I read, including you of course.

    • Anne Schilde says:

      I get such great visual images when I read; I wish I could write them well enough. I totally pictured knocking on your head with the whole who-is-it?-come-on-in-Annie thing, then lifting your lid open to peek inside and slamming it down quickly. Girl, it’s Pandora’s Box in there!

      It’s true. Some people talk about how fun it would be to get together and meet all the people in our little communities, which maybe it would be. I’m not so sure that’s not a case of sex with your best friend where you end up with no sex and no best friend. It seems like it’s probably magic because we’re all filtered by our virtual images of each other. And it’s really a two-way filter because we all only write the part of ourselves we want to show.

      Anyway, I’m certainly glad you’re writing too! There are a whole lot more smiles in the world as a result, including mine. 🙂

  11. neenslewy says:

    I have only just discovered your blog (through another blog – ermiliablog – love that on WordPress) off to post my entry. Great to hear about your blogging.

Stuff You Get to Write

