Annie in Wonderland

Written for Mindslam's Write Wednesdays #16. Click the pic for the original challenge. "But I am real," said Annie, and she started to cry.

Hi! I’m Annie. Not so long ago, I was born into a world full of curious things. Not the way people are born. There was no fertilized ovum, no developing embryo, no labor pain, and no first gasp of air. But I didn’t fall down a rabbit hole either. In my moment of conception, a username and a password allowed an application to inseminate a social network account, and a unique and fun-loving young woman sparked to life… to a silly theme song.

Some people might think my life is shallow. Others might call it fake. I was in tears the day someone called it a complete waste of time. I guess it’s a little weird that I always hear honking cars even though I’ve never seen one. Yeah, it might be true that I live in a place over-run with man-eating cow plants and store music that’s the same every time I go shopping. But it’s the only life I know, and I love it!

I was born a writer and a bookworm. That’s really no surprise. What was slightly surprising was that I was born into wealth despite having no relatives. Yeah, that confused me too. I already owned a home and some undeveloped property. …in a nice neighborhood, surrounded by friendly neighbors. Thankfully, I also had a crazy awesome new friend named Bella who explains everything to me.

Life for me is a complicated journey of emotional issues. OCD could have been my initials and I’m a total clean freak. Weeds, a leaky faucet, a dirty stove, all drive me crazy, and I run around polishing everything, occasionally even my neighbors. Add to that a bi-polar disorder that can have me laughing hysterically one second and wailing pitifully the next, and fits of depression where I refuse to do anything but mope.

My social problems don’t stop there.

Perhaps due to my lack of a childhood, I seem to have developed a split personality.

I sleepwalk...

I'm a bit of a slut...

And I have occasional episodes of eccentricity.

So all of that stuff about me is really cool and everything, but what makes my life special is the people around me. I have friends. Real social network friends! They come to my house and fix things and clean things for me out of the goodness of their hearts. Sometimes they perform songs for me, or bring a movie. They constantly send me gifts. But most of all, they show me how respected and important I am by asking me for help with everything from home remodeling to a new recipe they are working on.

My life isn’t one big party like Bella’s. I have a lot of work to do. Besides being a multi-published author, I’m also a professional musician with six gold records, a famous artist and an in-demand chef. In fact, I’m so successful, I’m only a few months old and I’m ready to retire! I probably would have already, but I’m still trying to figure out if my friend Minxy GoDDess is a vampire or not.

Some people might think my life is shallow. Others might call it fake. But it’s the life I know, it gets curiouser and curiouser, and I love it!

© 2012 Anne Schilde

These pictures were all created by me from snapshots of the SIMS Social Facebook application. They are my art, however limited the medium is.

About Anne Schilde

Image "Webster's Kiss" © 2011 Anne Schilde Thanks always for reading! ♥
This entry was posted in Stuff... cuz I like to write stuff! and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Annie in Wonderland

  1. Sunshine says:

    You did a great job with topic #16 Anne!
    I loved your Annie in Wonderland in her life that “gets curiouser and curiouser.”
    *clap, clap!!

  2. Ermilia says:

    Bahaha, I loved how you included images and captions. The ‘I’m a bit of a slut’ photo and caption was awesome. Annie is very eccentric and succesful! I liked the story, very humorous and lighthearted.

    – Ermisenda

  3. WordsFallFromMyEyes says:

    This was bizarre & interesting. People really do play these SIMS things, don’t they? That’s the bizarre bit. The interesting bit was all the rest!! I enjoyed this read 🙂

    • Anne Schilde says:

      Oh yeah! My friends all played SIMS. The Facebook version of it was just cute for nostalgia, but I wanted to make a picture album. I never intended to make a story with them. I’m glad you liked it!

  4. Hahaha!! Brilliant Annie! I was laughing the whole time! What a clever story!

    (Sorry for the exclamation mark overdose in this comment…)

  5. mindslam says:

    That was great Anne…reminded me of my days playing “Secondlife”. It was alot of fun. You are such a great writer.

    • Anne Schilde says:

      Thanks so much, Jason! I keep thinking I’m not going to be able to write to your prompts. Glad to be wrong again. 🙂 I’ve never been to SL, but Jenny Wilson tells me it’s pretty cool. 😉

  6. mindslam says:

    It was really awesome when I played…back when it first started. Think it’s alot more expensive now & you don’t get land very cheap anymore. You can also get in trouble on it. I know of a couple of marriages it ruined. It was so much fun though. You bought land & could build anything you wanted. I had a big party house & a shopping mall where I sold pictures & t-shirts…then rented out all the other spots in it. There was a night club right across from my house….sounds goofy, but it was fun.

  7. Anna says:

    Ha! How wonderful that we can attribute any traits we like to characters in the virtual world, and even to ourselves if we think we can get away with it in the social networks. Great post!

  8. I used to play Sims social too on facebook… and The Sims in general is an awesome virtual world game! I love how you illustrated the game by a story technique 🙂

    • Anne Schilde says:

      It was definitely fun, but the glitches were the best part. It’s like the game somehow knew I really talk to myself a lot like there’s two of me, or that I really like playing piano au naturel. 🙂 Thanks, MD!

  9. Khadija says:

    I love it! The pictures and their captions that accompany the piece are really effective 🙂

  10. Anna says:

    This is wonderful! I felt a twinge of humour and loneliness intertwined in the story which, in all honesty, reminds me a lot of my various online ‘births’, shall we say. I love it! You are one of my absolute favourite writers on WordPress because of such excellent stories like this.

    And I’ve just seen the tiny little smiley face at the bottom of your page which has in turn made me grin a little dementedly 😀

    • Anne Schilde says:

      Demented grinning is grinning of the best kind! Yes, the loneliness (and disorders and nude keyboarding)… she would hardly be right if she wasn’t a bit like me, eh?

      That’s such a sweet thing to say! ♥ You’re stories are my absolute favorites, and I missed your post on Sunday horribly! I hope it won’t be too much longer. 🙂

  11. Nanda says:

    wow, you wrote a lot since the last time i came in here. need to catch up asap!
    but i really liked this one, haha. very funny! and i must admit: i’m a sim lover as well! ❤

  12. Pingback: Introverts rock! « Anna writes…

  13. lorrelee1970 says:

    I give you kudos for using Sims. I love the creativity there. You really can take a challenge/topic and go with it…..and with great ease it seems.

    • Anne Schilde says:

      This is funny. It has turned out to be one of my top response-getters. I made a mistake with it, in that I put a lot of hover text in without realizing people reading on their phones can’t see that. The SIMS topic was pretty easy because I had so many picture prompts to work with. I got another great one after the story was done (don’t forget the hover text).

      Bathroom conversations
      Bathroom conversations have never been my thing.

Stuff You Get to Write

