Mountain View

Click the pic for the original challenge. Written once upon a dream and shared for Ermilia's Picture It & Write.

A mountain stands
all knowing, yet silent
and watches eons pass by.
Life paints itself on the mountain’s face
and hides the mountain’s age
behind intricacy.
The mountain is not deceived.
It stands to this day
awaiting many more eons.
I know.
I saw its birth.
I saw its death.

Water trickles down a stream bed,
filling every nook and cranny,
and its beginning knows its end.
Fish swim in from the ocean to the spring
and declare that
their world is new.
The water is not deceived.
The spring and the ocean cry back,
“We are water!”
I know.
I heard the spring.
I heard the ocean.

I wait alone
anticipating myself,
and from the mountain to the sea I am me.
In dreams I reach out and touch my world.
I awake to find it touching me
and I know it is true.
I am not deceived.
I am alone in myself.
There is nothing beyond what I am.
I am.
I know not birth.
I know not death.

© 2012 Anne Schilde

This was originally posted in my Facebook notes on Monday, May 17, 2010 at 6:21 pm. I only shared it with two people at the time.

About Anne Schilde

Image "Webster's Kiss" © 2011 Anne Schilde Thanks always for reading! ♥
This entry was posted in Poetry? and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Mountain View

  1. Such a beautiful poem to depict this picture 🙂 The immortality… the never-ending existence… wow!

  2. lorrelee1970 says:

    I’m glad you decided to post it here. Great poem.

  3. Wow…I’m actually speechless. Beautiful, Annie! (<— I was speechless except for that…) 😉

  4. Ashley says:

    Wonderful, as usual! I want to say, I miss you, too. Perhaps I should try and make a promise to myself about posting more on wordpress. I do miss posting and hearing from such wonderful people such as yourself. I just haven’t been into it lately. I want to get back into it. Soon? Rain check, let’s write about something together sometime. Hope you’re well!

    • Anne Schilde says:

      Hey! It’s good to see you, Ashley! I’ve been grand, and thanks so much! Busy but grand! If you have an idea for something you want to write together, just let me know. 🙂

  5. The one thing I love about your beautiful pieces of writing, Anne, is that you always find just the perfect picture to go with it. Utterly lovely.

    • Anne Schilde says:

      For so many of these, Ermisenda’s amazing pictures came first, so it works both ways. I care very much about finding one perfect picture though, and of course making sure it’s properly credited. Thank you so much!

  6. Lovely poem, Anne…I read Joe’s collaboration post and enjoyed your haiku, too!
    Lauren 🙂

Stuff You Get to Write

