The Most Fearsome One

Written for Mindslam's Write Wednesdays #15. Click the pic for the original challenge.

There is no creature that I fear more than the creature they call Man. Ooh, if only I could be one of those, I would be truly fearsome!

If I were a Man, I could flaunt my dominion over every other species, saying, “Rawrrr! Revere me. Fear me. I am a Man!” I could invent amazing tools to efficiently obliterate the others leaving them to rot while I wear their tusks and their teeth with unequaled pride. I could pillage an entire planet and poison her skies and her streams. When there was no creature left that did not cringe before me, I could hunt down the women and children of my own kind and rape them and beat them for the joy of their screams.

Oh, you, my fellow Man, you might seek me out to punish me, to bring justice upon me. But I could pose as your friend, or as your ally, or as your teacher, or as your leader. I could infiltrate you. I could steal from you all that you had ever worked for in your life.

As my lust for terror grew, I could sate it by slaughtering other men by the hundreds, by the thousands, because their flag was the wrong color or perhaps their skin was. I could capture them and imprison them, torture them to reveal their secrets, until everyone who was not like me was exposed. I could burn their towns and rape their women and children too, and make them beg for my mercy. And then I could show them none, kill them all!

And when all was conquered and I stood alone above a desolate and defeated world, I could scream, “Rawrrr! Revere me. Fear me. I am a Man!”

There is no creature that I fear more than the creature they call Man. Ooh, if only I could be one of those, I would be truly fearsome!

© 2012 Anne Schilde

About Anne Schilde

Image "Webster's Kiss" © 2011 Anne Schilde Thanks always for reading! ♥
This entry was posted in Annietorials, Stuff... cuz I like to write stuff! and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to The Most Fearsome One

  1. rumpydog says:

    Oh yeah! There would be no end to the terror you could inflict on others!

    • Anne Schilde says:

      Hehe! The prompt said, “What do you think it would be like to be an alligator or any other animal/reptile you choose that would be so feared?” It took me like 10 minutes.

  2. This story is sort of a mini-history of the world, of the parts that are evil, anyway.

  3. Tincup says:

    “And God said, Let us make man in our own image, after our own likeness: and let them have dominion over the fish of the sea, and over the fowl of the air, and over the cattle, and over all the earth, and over every creeping thing that creepeth upon the earth.” Genesis, Chapter 1-26)

    Amen…

  4. WordsFallFromMyEyes says:

    You’re amazing! Took you 10 minutes!!

    Yes. Man…. I love your quote about the human being its most dangerous predator. Excellent.

    • Anne Schilde says:

      How coincidental is that? I was just wishing Daniel a belated happy birthday! That quote I got from one of Tinc’s older posts. You can type a lot in 10 minutes when you know what you want to say.

  5. Aurora, HSP says:

    Nice work again, Anne 🙂 Well done.

  6. mindslam says:

    Great job Anne, your the best.

  7. Wow! That is one powerful piece, Annie. Amazing. How do you keep impressing me over and over again?? 🙂

  8. A man. Threatening and dangerous to all! Wow I suddenly feel alienated haha. That’s an awesome post Anne 🙂

  9. lorrelee1970 says:

    What a wonderful entry and take on his questions. This was great.

    • Anne Schilde says:

      Thanks so much! I do worry a little when I write something so strong. I keep hoping you’ll join in on WW. 🙂

      • lorrelee1970 says:

        No worries for you. That was great. I look at them, but I never feel like I have the right thing to write. I guess I need to realize I don’t have to write and post them on Wednesdays and give myself sometime to let them sink in. We’ll see.

Stuff You Get to Write

