Dripping Red

Click the pic for the original challenge. Written for Ermilia's Picture It & Write. Paragraphs in italics (with only teensy changes) written by Ermisenda Alvarez.

The wolf stared at her. She stared at him. She wanted to look away; she didn’t want to entice him, but she couldn’t turn. The cookies weighed her down like an anchor. Her heart threatened to burst. The wolf took a step forward. The basket of cookies fell from her limp fingers, the cookies scattered across the grass.

Without hesitation she began running in the opposite direction. The deep, dark forest was only meters away, maybe she could lose him among the trees. The branches tore at her skin and whipped her face. Shreds of her red dress dripped from the trees’ branches. She glanced behind her. The wolf was out of sight. She had strayed from the path. Her mother’s cookies for her grandmother had been spoiled. The weight of guilt flooded her eyes with tears. She had to find her way back home. Just as she turned around she came face to face with a man.

The man stared at her. She stared at him, petrified by his gaze. His naked body enticed her and she could neither look nor turn away from it. Was it fair to call him a man? Shaggy grey hair fell about shoulders of tensile sculpture. His haunting yellow eyes tore at her chest and she could feel shreds of red desire dripping from the wounds they opened. Thick full lips bulged slightly about his jaw, showing no trace of a smile, surely concealing fangs that would tatter her flesh to match her ruined dress. She brushed the tears from her cheeks with the back of her trembling hand.

“You fear me,” he said. There were no fangs when he spoke, just teeth and strong, inviting lips. His voice possessed her with its deep, virile tones.

“I was just upset that I lost my mother’s cookies,” she replied, as coolly as her shaking voice would allow.

He reached toward her. Every muscle in her body disobeyed her instinct to turn and flee again. Her eyes slowly followed down his form, chiseled perfection, until they fell on his outstretched hand. Her basket and cookies held there left no doubt who the hand belonged to. Nervously she reached out to take them, finally with the strength to turn away no longer bound by his hypnotic stare.

Patiently, he waited for her to turn and look back, but she did not.

“Go then,” his voice became a bestial guttural snarl. “Return when you have conquered your fear.”

She turned and fled. It was the weight of shame that now flooded her eyes with tears.

© 2012 Anne Schilde

About Anne Schilde

Image "Webster's Kiss" © 2011 Anne Schilde Thanks always for reading! ♥
This entry was posted in Stuff... cuz I like to write stuff! and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Dripping Red

  1. Scriptor Obscura says:

    Wow, you already wrote this so quickly after the post was published?! You are a master of coming up with ideas for a story, Anne! Great one, wow. How the heck did you come up with this story so quickly??? You are a great writer to be able to have the skill to come up with such a great story so fast!

    • Anne Schilde says:

      Ermisenda had it half-written for me. She turned the wolf into a man and she didn’t put clothes on him so why should I? Hehe! I just totally fell in love with the dripping red dress, and immediately thought dripping red desire. Thanks so much for your compliment! ♥

  2. elaviel413 says:

    Wow, so tantalizing! I love it! 🙂

  3. WordsFallFromMyEyes says:

    ‘Shoulders of tensile sculpture’ – that’s fantastic!

    Red is so so vivid. I love the colour – but when you say “dripping” and “shreds” I see it even more. Really great writing. “The weight of shame” – I liked that too, for it does so burden you.

    You just never take a break, Anne! EXCELLENT! A really good read, and sensuous near the end – and then how he turned. Really enjoyed it 🙂

  4. terri0729 says:

    Anne, I loved it!! So well done that I have no words, this too is similar to one thought that I had for the prompt, lol! I guess great minds think alike, huh? Marvelous job! hugs, Terri

    • Anne Schilde says:

      I could tell there were some similar thoughts by the words in your poem and the other images you chose. I was gonna have him hand her a red rose instead of the basket and have her finger drip red too, but the basket seemed more definitive when I got there. Hugs!

  5. That was really amazing… you really have a talent, you know.

    • Anne Schilde says:

      Thank you, Kelly! It’s nice to see you again! I read on one of the Freshly Pressed articles here that talent is half desire and half practice. I do have desire and I’m practicing as hard as I can. 🙂

  6. lukeknwls says:

    Very good, I really enjoyed it.

  7. Sunshine says:

    “Return when you have conquered your fear.”
    This is my favorite line and once again, excellent read Anne! 🙂

  8. Eliza says:

    I think your voice as an author really came through in this one. I would have ran away too; I don’t think desire ever is a good thing … (except the desire to eat chocolate!)

  9. Nanda says:

    ooooh, that was awesomeeeee!
    kinda sexy as well, hahaha.

  10. Khadija says:

    Wow, I love the twist on the classic fairy tale! It’s tantalising and exciting, Little Red Riding Hood for grown ups 🙂

    • Anne Schilde says:

      “Why Wolfie Darlin, what yummy lips you have!” Hehe! Thanks, Khadija! This was one where I actually did a direct answer to Ermisenda’s, so she gets credit for the twist. 🙂

  11. lorrelee1970 says:

    I thought I was entering erotica world once it got going. This was quite powerful.

Stuff You Get to Write

