Annie’s Kiss

Written for Mindslam's Write Wednesdays #11. Click the pic for the original challenge. Haha, why not turn this around and write the other side of this little romance?

Mesdames et Messieurs, je m’appelle Webster. I am many things, but foremost, I am charisma. I happen also to be a rat. More precisely, I am a capped rat of royale pedigree. Well, there are some kind of les papiers anyway. Today was a very special day, a day like no other. For today, to the many things that I am already, I have added one more. Today, Webster has become un amoureaux. I am a lover!

I am a rat plus magnifique. Because of my royale pedigree, I have been afforded my very own human companion. Her name is called Jessica. She has lived more than five years, which is amazing, but I understand it is not to be considered very old by the humans. Nevertheless, her venerable age is to be respected. Besides she feeds me l’bologne.

Jessica was very excited this whole day long. I hope all this excitement is not an endangerment for her health. Her friend Jessica’s mother called Annie is spending the night tonight. This is the very first time, a momentous occasion, and so Jessica and I, we worked all day on a new performance. You see, while I am foremost charisma, I am nothing if not a performer.

In this performance, I tunnel a long and treacherous course, to emerge in an unexpected place that causes great mirth in my human. It is only a pretense of course, that this tunnel is treacherous. Rats, even rats of royale persuasion such as myself, are actually quite at home in the dark passageways. But have I not said I am many things? Among them I am a thespian. And so they are treacherous, see?

Jessica hides me behind her back and then she holds out her hands and voila! I have disappeared. Then I emerge from the secret tunnel into her hand, and everybody is surprised, oui? And then I do adorable things with my whiskers because that is part of my charisma.

I was forgotten for a while when her friend she first arrived. Non, non, I am used to this you see, so there is no need for the remorse. However, I was nervous with excitement to meet the audience of my performance. I strained at every giggle to push my whiskers through the cage to catch scent of the one Jessica calls Flower. La Fleur. Such a delightful name.

Finally, my little Fleur she saw me, and it was l’amour! Her eyes went wide and we gazed into each others’ hearts.

“Didn’t you ever see a rat before?”

“Daddy won’t allow pets in the house.”

A pet! My little Fleur had called me petite! Jessica took me from my cage to do our performance. I was so nervous with excitement, I lost my way in the tunnels, but when I emerged, voila! I made my whiskers do the adorable dance for her laughter.

“He wants to kiss you.”

My little Fleur pulled her head back and her eyes, so beautiful and brown, opened wide. Jessica she laughed.

“Just stick your tongue out. He won’t bite.”

C'mon, you know you want to kiss me too!

My human was mistaken. It was not fear of my bite that made my little Fleur anxious. Her heart was how you say, pitter-patter for l’amour! I am charisma, non? She stuck out her tongue for me and we kissed! Très magique! She giggled and took her taste from me, the little coquette. But I know she merely teases me.

Jessica returned me to my cage and now I can only sit and listen to their laughter. But I know in time my Fleur she will return. She is for me. It is destiny!

© 2011 Anne Schilde

About Anne Schilde

Image "Webster's Kiss" © 2011 Anne Schilde Thanks always for reading! ♥
This entry was posted in Annie's World, Stuff... cuz I like to write stuff! and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Annie’s Kiss

  1. Nanda says:

    haha, this is so cute! and such a good idea too! 😉
    i just think you should put the french words in italic! just saying…
    xx

  2. elaviel413 says:

    Adorable! Love the French flavour! 🙂

  3. Cute and very amusing! I loved how you skilfully write as a rat mixing french and english… and I don’t kniw if it was intentional but it’s ‘la’ fleur not ‘le’. French intentional grammar mistake? 😛

  4. Anna says:

    This is wonderful! I love the way you write stories! So cute 😀

    I just thought I’d come pay a visit as I’ve been thinking all day how you’re really the only follower I have who ‘gets’ my posts… and I just wanted to say thank you. It’s been one of those days and I’m grateful for all your loveliness. Your story has cheered me up however! Rodents are always excellent muses.

  5. That rat is getting more action than me. That’s a bit depressing.

  6. Jezzmindah says:

    C’est magnifique! Mais oui, vous etes un writer plus grande, mademoiselle Annie. Tres Bien!

  7. rumpydog says:

    I really like this one. I was remembering my interview with Screwshank and imagining him saying such things. Yay!!!

  8. Lafemmeroar says:

    This post had loads of personality! Luv it 🙂 Happy New Year.

  9. Happy New Year 2012,,,, have fun 🙂

  10. WordsFallFromMyEyes says:

    Another great one, Anne – you’re so amazing 🙂 And it was good to see the sketch by you in larger form.

    Daniel had a couple of pet mice for a while, once. Your imagination has no bounds!

  11. Jason says:

    I am so glad you found me & little weekly gig Anne….you always make it so awesome. Makes me so want to keep it going. Sorry it took me a while to get to it…been a little busy with my newborn son.

  12. dinkerson says:

    Lol. This is just great! Webster’s a cool little silver tongued thespian, and lady’s rat, non?
    Unfortunately – and only in my mind – he sounded a little like Puss in Boots.

Stuff You Get to Write

