Mmm… Marbled Marlin

Click the pic for the original challenge. Written for Ermilia's Picture It & Write. People like desserts at Christmas time.

Dear Sarah,

I’m sorry I haven’t written. I know it’s been a couple of months. Did you miss me? I missed you too.

Daddy was in my room again today. I don’t know what he wanted. Nothing’s missing or out of place. But I know he was in here. I can smell him. He still doesn’t trust me. He was probably looking for you. Like I’m ever going to be that stupid again.

You’re probably wondering why I haven’t written. Daddy found one of my stories. It was bad. He went in my room after and pried your lock open. He read everything I ever wrote you. Everything. I think he was sorry later and Mama bought me another diary, but I don’t write in her. She’s not you.

I saw Andy after school today. Jessi and I were drinking sodas at Marlin’s and he came in. God he’s so cute! He knows me from tennis now and I saw him look over at our booth. I thought he was going to come over and say hi, but he went up and sat at the counter.

It didn’t make any sense him being in there alone. Jessi kept telling me to go up and talk to him but I couldn’t ever be forward like that. She says its not forward, it’s friendly, but I just couldn’t.

He ordered a Marbled Marlin. That’s one of Marlin Sr.’s fresh-made fudge brownies topped with a scoop of vanilla ice cream and marbled with chocolate syrup. You’d really like them. They’re heck of yum.

I kept watching Andy eat it. He was driving me bananas crazy. He would cut off a piece and just sit there with it on his fork yakkin at Marlin Jr. behind the counter. The brownie was bobbing around on the end of his fork teasing me. I wanted him to take a bite of me it so bad.

Haha, that’s funny. Maybe I did want him to take a bite of me. I’d sure take a bite of him!

I could feel his lips tugging the dessert from his fork. He has such strong perfect lips, just like the rest of him. I could imagine the syrup, and the cold sweet ice cream, sticky on his lips. He licked them off and Jessi kicked me under the table. I guess I kinda licked mine off too. She was teasing me about it all the way home.

Do you think he could ever like me, Sarah? Me? You’re just saying that cuz you don’t have any choice. I can’t wait for the tennis season to start back up.

Oh and don’t worry. I won’t ever let Daddy hurt you again. See you tomorrow.

© 2011 Anne Schilde

About Anne Schilde

Image "Webster's Kiss" © 2011 Anne Schilde Thanks always for reading! ♥
This entry was posted in Annie's World, Stuff... cuz I like to write stuff! and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Mmm… Marbled Marlin

  1. This is so sweet and innocent. You couldn’t possibly have conveyed the thoughts of a young girl more clearly.

  2. Eliza says:

    Did she fall in love with the cake or the guy?! Haha 😛

  3. Paprika says:

    Reminds me of myself a few years ago =P I love your style… very creative =)

  4. terri0729 says:

    Anne, What a great depiction of what a diary is to a young girl!!! Well done. Blessings, Terri

  5. Anne Schilde says:

    Thanks, Terri. I really enjoyed yours too, I just don’t know what to say on them anymore without sounding like a recording. Blessings!

  6. Nanda says:

    i found it so funny that the diary is a living person! i used to have one like this, ageeees ago! but i don’t remember it’s name anymore. 😦

  7. Wow…what an incredible snippet of a young girl’s life. I’m not gonna lie…kinda want to know more about her! <— that's my way of asking you to write more, just so you know… 😉

    Another brilliant story, Annie! 😀

    P.S. Just realised that I haven't clicked "Follow" on your page yet! What's up with that?! lol! Consider it now done. 🙂

    • Anne Schilde says:

      Funny you should mention that… This is actually my protagonist from Webster’s Kiss, writing an entry in her diary about a day that would have fit her story line. I’ve written a LOT more about her! I don’t actually write any diary entries in the book and I thought it would be fun to do one, cuz I miss writing in mine. 🙂

      Thanks so much always for your support, Christy!

  8. sabbage says:

    Hmm, who’s Andy? What does Lyndell think about him?

Stuff You Get to Write

