Grey Area

Click the pic for the original challenge. Written for Ermilia's Picture It and Write. Am I the only one who hears a siren in the background? We'll see...

The air is always freshest after it rains. It clings to my sinuses, delightful, clean, cold… alive! My senses play with the scent, frost kittens toying with icy yarn. Since I first streaked through our front door in my panties to live them, I know these sensations! They are my friends, the friends my body holds dear. …has always held dear.

My heels click with little skids, sandpaper hydroplaning on the wet pavement and I can hear. They remind me of my solitude among multitudes. It’s solitude I sought here. Do I seem strange? When I need to be alone, the city’s streets are my quiet room. Where else can I be so remote?

No one here sees me. No one here knows me. I walk in peace, no thought to detain me, no infiltration into the territory that was always rightfully mine. I watch them in their grey ritual and I smile. I smile because not one of them ever thinks it!

…that they do not know me.

© 2011 Anne Schilde

About Anne Schilde

Image "Webster's Kiss" © 2011 Anne Schilde Thanks always for reading! ♥
This entry was posted in Annie's World and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Grey Area

  1. Anne, you are such an incredible writer. You never failed to sweep me along with your words, painting such a clear picture. I love the way you convey your separation from the crowd.

    • Anne Schilde says:

      I was just commenting to Ermisenda before I posted this, that it really wasn’t me, just something that came out. I always feel bad that they’re too long but dang it. This ain’t Twitter! 🙂 Thanks so much for your compliment! ♥

  2. Ermilia says:

    ‘My heels click with little skids, sandpaper hydroplaning on the wet pavement’ – how do you come up with this brilliance? *Applauds*

    – Ermisenda

  3. natasiarose says:

    Wait wait wait…you did what in your panties? :-p

    • Anne Schilde says:

      ♥ The first time I remember it snowing, I ran outdoors in my panties because the snow was so exciting. I might have been four or maybe just five.

      • Tincup says:

        Well, this flowed and rhymed like a creative poem. I loved your point about being alone in the city even amonst such a great number of people…how often have you run in to someone you know when walking alone in the city…almost never…and I imagine most young woman would love to make the city their room…all those shops, restaurants, cafes…so much to amuse and heighten the senses of a lady. Creative writing is really your home.

      • Anne Schilde says:

        Thank you, Tinc. I certainly didn’t intend any kind of meter or rhyme, but I did try to be creative.

    • Tincup says:

      That is what I was wondering…evil smile

  4. Jezzmindah says:

    Great post lovely. You make me long for winter again, alas I’ve at least four months to suffer through before the humidity will ease and the chill return to us.

    • Anne Schilde says:

      Thank you. 🙂 I like winter better too. Something about the chilliness just feels good. One of the amazing moments in my life was walking out into the snow in -24 C. You can’t stay out long or you’ll die, but for a couple of minutes it was magical, the snow so cold it was dry, crunching quietly under my shoes like so much powdered chalk. The steam from my breath instantly froze and settled slowly to the ground. I didn’t feel cold. I don’t know if it was because everything exposed was instantly numb or because it was just beyond what our nerves know how to feel.

  5. Nanda says:

    this one was amazing, annie!
    i saw myself walking thru auckland streets… really touches me. Where else can I be so remote? ❤

  6. Annie, I know I’ve said this a million times before, but you are just incredible.

    If we could weave our words together to create clothing, you would be haute couture in Paris and I would be what you find in the discount bin at Wal-Mart.

    You are BRILLIANT!! 🙂

    • Anne Schilde says:

      Well, okay so I had to look that up… “Wal-Mart: a giant discount bin posing as an American department store chain.” Haha, seriously, I guess that means high class or something, right?

      We all write differently. I try to touch people. Honestly, to play with the clothing metaphor, I try to write one-size-fits-all stuff. You know so that young adult or adult; drop out or English Masters or ESL; female, male, undecided; whatever your religious or political or sexual orientation; I try to give everyone the same chance to “get” what I’m writing.

      I really appreciate the compliments and the time you take to read! Thank you very much!

    • Anne Schilde says:

      That’s what Tinc said. Maybe it’s some of that stuff called prosetry. I was just trying to illustrate the thinking that goes along with alone time. Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  7. Sunshine says:

    I like your quiet room…..

Stuff You Get to Write

