Mom’s Mascara

Click for the original challenge. Picture It & Write is gonna be my new favorite place on Sundays! ♥

Billy wiped the tears from his eyes. He stared at the thick black streaks on his eyes and cheeks. His left eye was already beginning to swell, but it wasn’t the back of his father’s hand that stung. “You little faggot!” he’d yelled and it was those words that bit into Billy like the fangs of a vicious beast, refusing to let him go.

His mother’s mascara was thick now where his father had held him down and smeared it. No longer the mark of innocent curiosity, it was a badge of dishonor to be worn as a reminder of his father’s bigoted rage. Carefully, he reached up and spread the black evenly into a mask, and paused to consider it in the mirror.

What was he going to say about the black eye? How could he tell Tyler or Jeff? “My dad hit me cuz he caught me playing in my mom’s makeup.” The teasing would be merciless. Something brave needed to be invented. Raccoon’s always wash their food. Maybe he could tell them. Maybe the raccoon was the answer.

About Anne Schilde

Image "Webster's Kiss" © 2011 Anne Schilde Thanks always for reading! ♥
This entry was posted in Stuff... cuz I like to write stuff! and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Mom’s Mascara

  1. Ermilia says:

    Oh my goodness, this is brilliant. Thank you for contributing to Picture it & Write, I REALLY want to see what you do next week so I hope you return. This is my favorite one I have read so far.

    -Eliabeth

  2. Doc says:

    Great! Short and sweet and says it all. I’m going to go check out Picture it & Write!

  3. Layers of shame are such a horrible thing. You are wrong at first for being yourself. Then you are wrong for acting like yourself. Then you are wrong for not standing up for yourself.

    It is endless.

  4. first, I love the pic! very artistic. He can be himself, that’s all that will matter, being true to oneself.

Stuff You Get to Write

