It Made Me Think of You

A lizard scurried from my shadow on the path.
The sun he had basked in beat down hard upon my shoulders;
filled my soul with warmth – happiness.
It made me think of you.

The leaves of trees rustled above my head.
The wind with which they danced whispered softly through my hair;
refreshed me with a breath of new life.
It made me think of you.

A butterfly fluttered from a fresh spring blossom.
Beauty surpassed only by your own radiated from its delicate wings;
taught me about the beauty of love.
It made me think of you.

Crickets chirped a melody in a nearby field.
The tall grasses of their orchestra pit hid them, but their song
flooded my heart with the music of hope.
It made me think of you.

The first star twinkled in the evening sky.
Its light measured the timeless ages of the universe and told a story;
promised me that a new day would come.
It made me think of you.

© 2011 Anne Schilde

About Anne Schilde

Image "Webster's Kiss" © 2011 Anne Schilde Thanks always for reading! ♥
This entry was posted in Poetry? and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to It Made Me Think of You

  1. Lori says:

    Beautiful of course

  2. Pooh says:

    *sigh*
    This fills me with such stillness and peace. ❤

Stuff You Get to Write

