In Memoriam

It hurts to say, “Good-bye.”

I find this hard to write, which is odd for me, but I feel I should say something before this day has passed…

Letting go of people we love is never fun. It’s harder still when it seems like life was taken before it ever had a chance to be lived. I struggle to write in honor of my fallen hero and for the friends and family of others who died in service, because I don’t want to make any less significant the tragic losses of people who perished without serving our country or who perished serving another.

No loss of a loved one is fun. My heart still hurts for everyone I’ve lost, and my compassion still goes out to everyone who has lost someone.

Today, is Memorial Day, a day to honor fallen American soldiers. So for today, I want to remind the world that I loved a man named Ryan. He wore our country’s uniform with pride. He served in honor. He died an inspiration to everyone who knew him. I miss him.

I also want to offer, love, peace and hope, to the families and friends of anyone who was lost, whether at war, or on a freeway, or in a drive-by, or to cancer. These deaths are no less significant than my friend’s. It is precisely the freedom to die these other deaths, that is the freedom he paid for with his life.

I would hope for each of you, that life goes on without sharing this pain, but ultimately, I understand. The only way to avoid it, is to make an early exit yourself, and I don’t want to wish that for any of you. So for this moment, I just want to be a little sad, and at the same time, eternally thankful.

About Anne Schilde

Image "Webster's Kiss" © 2011 Anne Schilde Thanks always for reading! ♥
This entry was posted in Annietorials and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to In Memoriam

  1. WordsFallFromMyEyes says:

    This is lovely, Anne. I was in the mood for an Annietorial, and found this. It’s very heartful.

Stuff You Get to Write

