Almost

I almost had a dream…

I didn’t sleep well last night. In fact, unless you call tossing and turning for six hours sleeping, I almost didn’t sleep at all. Still in the middle of it all, I found myself staring through a screen door or a storm door. A haunting piano melody was playing behind me in another room. One of those things where I knew it was me playing, but there I was with my face pressed up against the window.

At first, I was staring at a mosquito. It seemed enormous. There was a loud slap of skin on skin and the mosquito was replaced by a hand. The hand belonged to man slapping a mosquito on his arm. He was dressed all in white with a Panama hat, sitting on the porch in front of me facing away. I didn’t know who he was.

Stretching out in front of the deck, almost as far as the eye could see was a vast field of wheat. I wanted to go running in it. I was apprehensive because I wasn’t sure if the man would let me or not, but before I could talk myself into trying, I heard my own voice begin singing over the top of the piano accompaniment. I did everything I could to hang on to it and then captured it in the morning riding in on the train.

✿✿✿

[Here’s the music. These lyrics have already changed and are a work in progress…. haha, kinda like me! working on something for YouTube, might be a while]

Blue eyes
A blue face staring through a window
Watches all God’s teardrops tumbling down

Blue mood
Her heart is broken
She sees its shattered pieces lying on the ground

She had a love that was almost real
She was almost happy, she was almost trusted, she was almost everything to him

It’s over and now she must heal
He said almost real was almost good enough for him… Almost

Nothing
Lasts forever
But maybe how it hurts to wish it would sometimes

She knows
It must get better
Picks up all the little pieces of her heart that she can find

She had a love that was almost heaven
She was almost safe, she was almost warm, she trusted almost everything to him

He’s gone away left her barely breathing
He said almost heaven was almost good enough for him… Almost

She dreams
Pain almost forgotten
Still believes that what she had was almost perfect…

Knows that what she had was only almost perfect… Almost

✿✿✿

I’ve written some okay poetry and I’ve written some very pretty piano music, but I’ve never written a song. Well, almost never. Leave it to my dreams to write one for me.

© 2010 Anne Schilde (including future lyrical alterations and the music)

About Anne Schilde

Image "Webster's Kiss" © 2011 Anne Schilde Thanks always for reading! ♥
This entry was posted in Annie's World. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Almost

  1. Ermilia says:

    Wow! And you created the piano piece? That was lovely! I really enjoyed listening to it. I play piano but it’s lazy playing (I play when I have time and I didn’t follow grade systems. I was a rebel! I played the songs I wanted and got better to play the harder songs I liked.) I never tried creating my own song with proper enthusiasm. Unless you call… smacking the keyboard proper enthusiasm.

    You should sing to the piano piece! I want to hear the lyrics. If I could sing I would do it for you but I don’t think it would sound very nice. 😛 Do you have any more piano pieces online?

    Ah dreams, <3. Pots of imagination, creativity and awesomeness. That's a cool story behind the song. Let's hope you have another music-inspiring dream sometime soon. 😀

    – Ermisenda

    • Anne Schilde says:

      I definitely call smacking the keyboard proper enthusiasm. 🙂 I have the same lyrical problem, but I have two friends who could sing it. I started practice with one and then she moved. Grr! I will at least get the sheet music and piano on YouTube someday. I’m glad you liked it!

  2. dinkerson says:

    Jesus, Anne. You’re such an amazingly talented person.

    There are two things that I want, and you needn’t tell me that I’m not going to get them because I know this.
    First, I want to know something about you. I always get a little mesmerized by you when I read your posts, and now when I listen to your music. For all I know you’re and 80 year old democrat 😉 , Which wouldn’t be a deal breaker. When we run away and get married, we would just have to run a little more slowly.

    Um, and second, I want a cd of your music. I could listen to it all day. And, of course, it isn’t only the songs, it’s how you play them.

    Not meaning to brag, but I can do similar magic with the guitar. Used to play violin but it has been twelve years since I touched one.
    I have a new photography blog. There is a link to it on my Flight of Reason blogroll.. Would love to have you check it out if you ever find any time.

    • Anne Schilde says:

      Hahaha, Nathan! Well, I’m neither 80, nor a Democrat! It would be a huge compliment to think I could pass myself off as either in my writing!

      It’s kind of a weird place for an About Me so I’ll keep it short…

      I celebrated my 27th birthday last year, which was a big deal, not because 27 is, but because 11/11/11 was. 🙂 I’m non-partisan and non-denominational. I like ice cream. I like bacon. Not together. Yet. I want to be a writer. I guess that’s a duh.

      There is no such thing as a CD of me. I have to be honest, I don’t think I have enough musical talent to do more than entertain myself. I really do appreciate your kind words though. 🙂

  3. Nanda says:

    OMG…
    This is amazing! Stunning… It’s so beautiful… the lyric is so perfect…
    It’s always the “almost” that turn us down… At least we have words and music and good friends to help us to mend our broken hearts. Thank you, thank you, thank you. I just can’t get enough of the sound of the piano…

Stuff You Get to Write

