The Closet

I hate these stupid monsters!

The closet is a dark and lonely place
But there, no monsters hide
So there, I hide
Cuddled in the corner with the boxes and the shoes
Safe from the monsters

My friend stands in the light at the door
The closet is the monster
Heroes don’t hide in closets
They cuddle their hopes
And vanquish the monsters

The light outside the closet hurts my eyes
But I see no monsters
I step out of hiding
To cuddle my friend with hero’s arms
In a world free from monsters

The closet is gone and it is dark everywhere
My friend is gone and I am no hero
I have no place to hide
Ashamed, I cuddle no one
I am the monster

I want my dark closet back
How I miss the safety under the long coats
I want my friend back
My heart no longer cuddles in my chest
I hate these stupid monsters

© 2010 Anne Schilde

About Anne Schilde

Image "Webster's Kiss" © 2011 Anne Schilde Thanks always for reading! ♥
This entry was posted in Poetry? and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Closet

  1. Anne Schilde says:

    For once is for always… I love you, Jessi!

  2. Pooh says:

    This one always made me sad and brought out the mumma in me who wants to smooth your hair and cuddle you till you feel safe and warm.

  3. Ermilia says:

    Wow. I really have to go through and read through your older posts. This has a totally different feeling than your more recent work. I guess this is also a poem, so that comment is probably redundant. I really liked how you kept repeating key words like ‘monsters’, ‘closets’, ‘cuddle’ and ‘hide’. It gave the poem…an edge that feels almost fable-ish and yet dark, intriguing. It’s hard to describe. It’s quite a depressing poem actually…really well written though. 🙂

    – Ermisenda

  4. joetwo says:

    Wow! Is this what started you writing?

    • Anne Schilde says:

      I could just say no. Dear Sarah was the first thing I wrote in July of 2009. Flower Anne and Jessi were born almost a year later, so my writing really came first. But you’re right in sensing a deep connection between the aching for my friend in this poem and the inspiration in the other things I’ve written since.

Stuff You Get to Write

